Home » Inspirational » Interview with Life Coach Sheri Kaye Hoff

Interview with Life Coach Sheri Kaye Hoff

Categories

Archives



keys-to-living-joyfullySheri Kaye Hoff resides in Parker, CO with her husband and three children. She is a Life Coach and owner of the Sheri K Hoff International Coaching Company. She teaches college classes as an adjunct faculty member and has earned her Master of Arts in Organizational Management. Her new book, Keys to Living Joyfully,offers a way of living a meaningful, successful and joy filled life.

Ms. Hoff is a personal and executive life coach. Spirituality is a vital part of her life’s work. Prayer and meditation are integral pieces of her daily ritual, which enables her to pursue her life’s passions and live a truly joyful life.

Her words on faith are derived from her own Christian walk and spiritual self-discoveries. Her action steps mix faith and years of leadership training, mentoring, and management. Sheri Kaye Hoff suffered the tragic death of her younger brother when she was a teenager and struggled for years to rediscover the capacity to feel joy and to enjoy her successes. She has a heart felt desire to pass on her knowledge and discoveries that have led to a truly transformational life. Ms. Hoff publishes a free weekly inspiration newsletter, Coach Sheri’s Weekly Inspiration Tips. The Sheri K Hoff International Coaching Company also offers:

  • Teleclasses.
  • Webinars
  • In person small and large group Coaching
  • Corporate Training
  • Keynote speaking
  • Seminars
  • Individual Career and Life Coaching (For a limited time- receive a free introductory one hour life coaching session)

You can visit her website at www.lifeisjoyful.org.

Welcome to Beyond the Books, Sheri. Can you tell us whether you are published for the first time or multi-published?

Thank you, it’s great to be here. Keys to Living Joyfully is my first published book and my first completed book. I have a few other books that were started, but not finished.

For your first published book, how many rejections did you go through before you either found a mainstream publisher, self-published it, or paid a vanity press to publish it?

I chose to self-publish my book without first trying to submit it to a mainstream publisher. I researched publishing, read a couple of books on self-publishing, and decided that I wanted to get my message out quickly. Self-publishing was the right choice for me.

How did the rejections make you feel and what did you do to overcome the blows?

Since I decided to self-publish right away, I have not experienced rejections for this book.

When your first book was published, who published it and why did you choose them?

I chose createspace.com because it is a subsidiary of Amazon.com and I thought the profit margin for authors was favorable. Createspace.com was also very user friendly. I did order a proof copy to make sure that the quality of the printing would be at a high level. I have been very happy with createspace.com and my book is available on Amazon, which is a great marketing tool.

How did it make you feel to become published for the first time and how did you celebrate?

Publishing my book was an incredible feeling. I felt so overwhelmed with delight, supreme satisfaction, and happiness. I celebrated with with cake and champagne. My children and husband were proud of the book. I also traveled to my hometown and my mother and aunt hosted a luncheon at a local bed and breakfast. In some ways, I still feel like I have a little celebration going on in my mind everyday. Since I published my book, I have noticed that my writing flows even more freely.

What was the first thing you did as for as promotion when you were published for the first time?

I sent emails to all of my contacts and I gave books to close friends and family. This generated immediate sales. Then I began to get involved in social networking on the internet with twitter and facebook, which has been successful for me. Next on my list was to be involved in a virtual book tour, which is when I became involved with Dorothy Thompson from Pump Up Your Book Promotions. My virtual book tour has generated a lot of buzz. It has been fun and productive.

If you had to do it over again, would you have chosen another route to be published?

I would choose the same route for this book. I have met so many wonderful people through my self-publishing efforts, and I have friends on almost every continent. I feel deeply grateful for this experience and know that it has changed me on a deep level.

Have you been published since then and how have you grown as an author?

I have published several poems and a short story on authorsden.com. A book that I am working on is a career guide for people suffering with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. This book should be available by the end of the summer of 2009. I have grown as an author by being more efficient as a writer and trusting myself. Since I am a published author, a barrier has been knocked down in my mind.

Looking back since the early days when you were trying to get published, what do you think you could have done differently to speed things up? What kind of mistakes could you have avoided?

I thought about writing a book for twenty years and started several times. I learned that I was working on the wrong projects. Once I found my passion, the writing was easy and flowing. I think if I had worked more on knowing myself better, I would have completed a book much earlier. I also spent time worrying about whether anyone would like my writing enough to publish it. Looking back, that worry was a huge waste of time, since I ended up deciding to self-publish.

What has been the biggest accomplishment you have achieved since becoming published?

Since I published my book, I have started writing poetry again. This is sort of strange, since my book, Keys to Living Joyfully, is not a book of poetry. I wrote poems from childhood through my twenties and then stopped. This renewed inspiration is a wonderful gift. I write poems for myself, but I have been sharing them on authorsden.com and people seem to feel touched by them. Writing poetry frees me and lets me capture the passion, pain, hope, and victory in ordinary everyday life with a few well-chosen and well-placed words.

If you could have chosen another profession, what would that profession be?

My profession is life-coaching, and I, also, happen to be an effective writer. I love what I do. If I had to pick something else, I would do something crazy and fun in the world of art, theater or music. I love live entertainment and did some community theater when I was younger.

Would you give up being an author for that profession or have you combined the best of both worlds?

I think I have combined life coaching and being an author effectively. Perhaps, I identify myself more as a life coach, since I have published only one book. Now, I am engaged in many different types of writing-so maybe I will think of myself as an author first sometime in the future.

How do you see yourself in ten years?

I am working on doctoral studies in organizational change and leadership- I plan to have completed my program certainly before ten years. I will continue to write books on life coaching and successful living topics, but I think I will branch out and also write a book of short stories and poems. Maybe one day I will write a fiction novel, for fun. I also would like to lead joyful living retreats as spas and resorts where people can feel renewed in all aspects of their lives.

Any final words for writers who dream of being published one day?

If you truly love and are inspired by your topic, your book will seem to write itself. Believe in your work, get opinions from people that you trust to be honest, join a mastermind group (with only a few individuals) and never give up the dream. Self-publishing is a great way to get your message to your audience, but it certainly requires attention to detail and a zest for promoting.

Note from Sheri:

To celebrate my April Tour, everyone who purchases a copy of Keys to Living Joyfully, will be able to have one month of unlimited email coaching. All the readers need to do is send me an email to coachsheri@lifeisjoyful.org , mention the April Virtual Book Tour and include their Amazon, createspace, or paypal confirmation number. I also have a link on my website for people to purchase signed copies of the book directly from me.
keys-to-living-joyfully-banner

6 Comments

  1. Welcome to Beyond the Books, Sheri!

  2. amateurdelivre says:

    Great interview – I wasn’t familiar with createspace and that they were a subsidiary of Amazon.

  3. Thank you pumpupyourbookpromotion, Beyond the Books, and amateurdelivre- I am happy to be on Beyond the Books. I will be checking in throughout the day to respond to comments. Have a great day everyone.
    Blessings,
    Sheri Kaye Hoff

  4. ccmal says:

    Nice interview ladies. Sheri, your book really sounds wonderful and with that great offer, who can pass it up?

    Your next book sounds like it will be good, considering the War on Terror and our troops hopefully coming home soon. Please keep me posted on that one.

    Have fun with your tour.

    Cheryl

  5. JM says:

    Lovely interview. :) I love the last bit of advice to writers.

  6. Thanks Cheryl and JM for stopping by and commenting. I agree that our troops coming home creates a great need to be prepared to help them get back to their lives:)
    Sheri

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Who We Are

Thanks for visiting Beyond the Books! Beyond the Books is a mufti-genred book blog that is syndicated into such publications as USA Today, Forbes, Chicago Times and many others. Our blog posts are picked up by journalists and reporters looking for content for their publications. Beyond the Books is one of Pump Up Your Book's in house blogs and hosts authors touring with us; however we are open to hosting other authors here as well. Click on the "Author Interviews" tab in the top navigation bar to find out how you can send us an interview. Click on the "Guest Bloggers" tab in the top navigation bar to find out how you can write a guest blog for us. You are welcome to email Dorothy Thompson at thewriterslife (at) gmail.com with any questions. Beyond the Books is strictly a book blog and is not hosting product reviews. Book reviews are on hiatus until further notice.

We support Indie Authors!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

