Home » author interviews » Interview with Children’s Fantasy Author Victoria Simcox

Interview with Children’s Fantasy Author Victoria Simcox

Categories

Archives



Victoria Simcox

Victoria Simcox

Author of The Magic Warble, Victoria Simcox, also known as Vicki, was born in Scarborough, Ontario, Canada, to an Austrian immigrant mother, and a Dutch immigrant father. She has one older sister. When she was 7, Vicki moved with her family to British Columbia. Then in her early twenties to Western Washington, where she now resides in Marysville WA. She has been married for almost 20 years, and has 3 children. For the past 10 years, she has home schooled her children, and she also teaches elementary school art. Her other family members are, a Chihuahua, named Pipsy, 2 cats, named Frodo and Fritz, and 1 parakeet, named Pauly. She did have a pet rat named Raymond; when she started writing The Magic Warble, but sad to say, he has since passed away of old age. Vicki enjoys writing, reading, painting watercolors, good movies and just hanging out with friends and family. Her favorite author is C.S. Lewis, and one of her fondest memories is when she was 12. She would sit at the kitchen table, and read the Chronicles of Narnia to her mother while she cooked dinner. These magical stories were very dear to Vicki and she remembers wishing, If only I could go to Narnia like Lucy and Susan. Vicki hopes that maybe she can touch someone with her story in a similar way.  You can visit her website at www.themagicwarble.com or her blog at http://www.victoriasimcox.blogspot.com.

The Magic Warble

Welcome to Beyond the Books, Victoria.  Can we start out by telling us whether you are published for the first time or are you multi-published?

Victoria: I am published for the first time.

What was the name of your very first book regardless of whether it was published or not and, if not published, why?

Victoria: The Magic Warble

 

The Magic Warble

The Magic Warble by Victoria Simcox (Click on cover to purchase)

For your first published book, how many rejections did you go through before you either found a mainstream publisher, self-published it, or paid a vanity press to publish it?

Victoria: About 30 I’d say.

 

How did the rejections make you feel and what did you do to overcome the blows?

Victoria: The rejections made me feel down, and depressed of course, but I had done a lot of research before hand, and that had prepared me to expect many rejections. I learned that for first time authors, most of the time it doesn’t matter how good your work is, publishers are rarely going to take the risk of taking on a new author due to the costs involved in publishing.

When your first book was published, who published it and why did you choose them?

Victoria: Two Harbors Press is my first publisher. They are a small publishing agency that does take on new authors, if they like their work, but they also expect the author to do most of the promotion of their book.

How did it make you feel to become published for the first time and how did you celebrate?

Victoria: It made me feel very happy. To me being published is a very big accomplishment. I didn’t do anything in particular to celebrate, just relished in the satisfaction of being a published author.

What was the first thing you did as for as promotion when you were published for the first time?

Victoria: I had a website created and a blog spot as well. Then I had my book reviewed by bloggers, who then posted the reviews on their blog sites. I also sent review copies to newspapers and stores to see if they wanted to carry my book. And I have been doing book signings and talks as well.

If you had to do it over again, would you have chosen another route to be published?

Victoria: I guess if there was a publisher that did all of my promoting that would be something I’d have wanted to begin with, but the reality of it is that would most likely never have happened to begin with being that I am new author. So I am doing the best I can with where I’m at now.

Have you been published since then and how have you grown as an author?

Victoria: No. I haven’t finished my second book in The Magic Warble series yet, and it is all that I am working on at present. As far as growing as an author, my passion for creating my story keeps growing stronger, and I write more then I used to. I hardly ever go a day with out writing at least 2 to 3 hours. Also I really truly appreciate the fans of my book. When they tell how they can’t wait for the next book, it’s so rewarding to me. I also like to encourage young people who want to write as well. There are a lot of kids out there wanting to be the next J.K. Rowling and Stephanie Meyer and if I can build them up and give them encouragement and hope it also helps me grow as an author.

Looking back since the early days when you were trying to get published, what do you think you could have done differently to speed things up?  What kind of mistakes could you have avoided?

Victoria: Really, I don’t see what I could have done different or speeded up. I was published in about 14 months from the time I started sending out my manuscript.

What has been the biggest accomplishment you have achieved since becoming published?

 

Victoria: Being able to here how my fans love my story and can’t wait for the next book. This shows me that I must have accomplished writing a pretty good story.

If you could have chosen another profession, what would that profession be?

Victoria: That’s hard to say because writing is what I love most, but if I had to choose something secondary, I’d say art teacher.

Would you give up being an author for that profession or have you combined the best of both worlds?

Victoria: I guess I’ve combined the best of both worlds, because I already do both.

 

How do you see yourself in ten years?

Victoria:  I have big dreams. In ten years or hopefully way before then, I want be able to make enough money from my book royalties to retire my husband from his job. I’d like to see my books made into movies and I want to be able to travel more as well as give more to the charities I support.

Any final words for writers who dream of being published one day?

Victoria:  If you truly feel that writing is your life’s purpose, then no matter how hard the publishing journey gets, or how frustrated you get when writers block may stop your creativity, or how low your self esteem may get, never give up. Even so, saying all this, don’t expect miracles to fall into your lap. You’ll have to search and work very hard figuring out what to do next, but I believe if you do this, an opportunity will show its self. Do a lot of research. The internet is a goldmine of information. I’ll leave you with a good quote: Faithless is he that says farewell when the road darkens. J. R. R. Tolkien

Watch the trailer!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Who We Are

Thanks for visiting Beyond the Books! Beyond the Books is a mufti-genred book blog that is syndicated into such publications as USA Today, Forbes, Chicago Times and many others. Our blog posts are picked up by journalists and reporters looking for content for their publications but we cannot guarantee placement - that is under the discretion of the reporters and journalists. Beyond the Books is strictly a book blog and is not hosting product reviews. Book reviews are on hiatus until further notice.

We support Indie Authors!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

