Home » Uncategorized » Beyond the Book Chats With Vila Spider Hawk author of Hidden Passages: Tales to Honor the Crones

Beyond the Book Chats With Vila Spider Hawk author of Hidden Passages: Tales to Honor the Crones

Categories

Archives



click on the book cover to purchase at Amazon

Vila SpiderHawk and her husband share a log home of their design in the woods of Pennsylvania where they live with their five cats and enjoy frequent visits with their many woodland friends.  SpiderHawk, a retired teacher, is an avid gardener and a gourmet vegan cook.

You can find Vila at www.vilaspikerhawk.com

Order her book at Amazon

INTERVIEW:

Q: Welcome to Beyond the Books, Vila.  Can we start out by telling us whether you are published for the first time or are you multi-published?

A:  Thank you so much for having me.  

I have five books currently on the market: Hidden Passages: Tales to Honor the Crones, which is a book of stories; three novels in the Forest Song series; and Forest Song Cookbook.

Q: What was the name of your very first book regardless of whether it was published or not and, if not published, why?

A:  Hidden Passages: Tales to Honor the Crones

Q: For your first published book, how many rejections did you go through before you either found a mainstream publisher, self-published it, or paid a vanity press to publish it?

A:  I didn’t receive any rejections on the first manuscript.  I went to a publisher who was recommended to me and was published straight away.  When that publisher changed direction, and Hidden Passages no longer fit with the kind of work it wanted, my current publisher picked the title up immediately.  I have been very fortunate in that respect. 

 

Q: How did the rejections make you feel and what did you do to overcome the blows?

A: I have yet to experience this, but knowing my personality, I’d probably pout for three and a half seconds and then submit to someone else. 

Q: When your first book was published, who published it and why did you choose them?

A: Spilled Candy Publishing put the first book out, and I went with them on the strength of a very strong recommendation from a fellow author. 

Q: How did it make you feel to become published for the first time and how did you celebrate?

A: I was actually surprised at how little I reacted to seeing my first book in print.  I had already moved on the second book.  Nonetheless, once I actually had the book in my hands, my husband and I went out to dinner to celebrate. 

Q: What was the first thing you did as for as promotion when you were published for the first time?

A: I went around to all the bookstores in the area with an eye toward doing signings.  I designed and printed brochures that I distributed the way Hansel and Gretel distributed bread crumbs. And I joined My Space.

Q: If you had to do it over again, would you have chosen another route to be published?

A: No I don’t think so.  It all worked out for the best I believe.

Q: Have you been published since then and how have you grown as an author?

A: I have been published five times.  I find that the writing goes more quickly with each book, that I no longer have as much sloppy writing to clean up. This is important, because as the years have passed, my non-writing work load has increased dramatically, and so I must be more efficient in my writing.

Q: Looking back since the early days when you were trying to get published, what do you think you could have done differently to speed things up?  What kind of mistakes could you have avoided?

A:  It all went very quickly.  I don’t think I would have wanted it to go any faster.  I needed time to be sure that the manuscript was exactly as I wanted it to be and that I, personally, was actually ready to be published.  No, I am content with the pace at which it went.

Q: What has been the biggest accomplishment you have achieved since becoming published?

A:  Each published book is, in my opinion, an accomplishment.  However, what satisfies me most is when people write me to say that since they’ve read my work, they see things differently. 

 

Q: If you could have chosen another profession, what would that profession be?

A: Teaching.  I used to be a French teacher, and I adored that work.

Q: Would you give up being an author for that profession or have you combined the best of both worlds?

 

A: Actually, it was the other way around.  I retired from teaching and then wrote my first book.  However, these two careers are not mutually exclusive.  I could see writing and teaching simultaneously.  I’d probably have to give up sleeping though.

 

Q: How do you see yourself in ten years?

A: I am 65 years old, and I come from a family who doesn’t seem to live much longer than 70.  If I am alive in ten years I shall be happy.  And if I am alive, I shall be writing.

Q: Any final words for writers who dream of being published one day?

A: Oh by all means, follow your bliss.  What do you have to lose?  The only way to fail is to refuse to try! If you love writing, pour everything you have into it.  And above all, enjoy the process.

10 Comments

  1. Melinda says:

    Wonderful interview, Vila! “The only way to fail is to refuse to try.” I love that – so true!

  2. Thank you for hosting me today! I really appreciate that! Vila

  3. Great interview, Vila! I read Hidden Passages: Tales to Honor the Crones & highly recommend it…it’s a beautifully written spiritual & enlightening book!!

  4. I have read all of Vila Spiderhawk’s books and just love them. She has a wonderful style that is so easy to read and beautifully descriptive. Hidden Passages Tales to Honor the Crones truly speaks to the reader’s heart. It is a book I think everyone should read.

  5. Dee Melton says:

    Wonderful interview Vila. You are blessed being able to teach and then follow your bliss and write. Hope you around long past 70. I have Hidden Passages Tales to Honor the Crones and just love it! Your writing brings the characters to life and I felt all their emotions. It is so hard to put a book like that down. Please keep writing.

    • Oh Dee aren’t you kind. I hope I live past 70 too! I’m just warming up! LOL!
      I’m so glad you enjoyed Hidden Passages! Thank you for your kind words about that! Have you read the Forest Song series yet?
      Thanks so much for coming by, Dee! That was very kind of you! Vila

  6. Thank you so much for hosting me! I truly appreciate your hospitality! Vila

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Who We Are

Thanks for visiting Beyond the Books! Beyond the Books is a mufti-genred book blog that is syndicated into such publications as USA Today, Forbes, Chicago Times and many others. Our blog posts are picked up by journalists and reporters looking for content for their publications but we cannot guarantee placement - that is under the discretion of the reporters and journalists. Beyond the Books is strictly a book blog and is not hosting product reviews. Book reviews are on hiatus until further notice.

We support Indie Authors!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 152 other followers

