Home » Uncategorized » Beyond the Books with Dr. Mitchell Gibson

Beyond the Books with Dr. Mitchell Gibson

Categories

Archives



Dr. Mitchell Gibson is one of the world’s leading authorities on the interface of science and the frontiers of human consciousness.  He is the best-selling author of Your Immortal Body of Light, Signs of Mental Illness, Signs of Psychic and Spiritual Ability, The Living Soul, Nine Insights For A Happy and Successful Life, and Ancient Teaching Stories.

He has delivered addresses to many of the world’s largest conferences related to science and consciousness. These include, The International Science and Consciousness Conference, The Sivananda Ashram Annual Symposium, International Institute of Integral Human Sciences, The SSGRR-IT Conference on Advances in Electronic Medicine in Italy, The Southeast Regional Unity Ministers Conference, The Northwest Astrological Association, The American Federation of Astrologers and many others.

Dr. Gibson has been a consultant for Fortune 500 companies, Hollywood celebrities, professional athletes, A&E Network, NBC, ABC, and CBS regional affiliate television stations, newspapers, radio stations.

http://www.thenineinsights.com

 

Q: Welcome to Beyond the Books, Mitchell Earl Gibson MD.  Can we start out by telling us whether you are published for the first time or are you multi-published?

A: Thank you for inviting me.  I have published several books.  This is the first mainstream book that I have published.  I wrote a book entitled Signs of Mental Illness with Llewellyn Publications.  I also published a book entitled Your Immortal Body of Light with Reality Press. Both books were inspired by my spiritual and emotional experiences.

Q: What was the name of your very first book regardless of whether it was published or not and, if not published, why?

A: My very first book was Signs of Mental Illness.  It was published by Llewellyn.  It is still in print and still available online.  The book chronicles my research on astrology and mental illness.

Q: For your first published book, how many rejections did you go through before you either found a mainstream publisher, self-published it, or paid a vanity press to publish it?

A: I went through over 40 rejections before Llewellyn accepted the book.  That was a very agonizing process.

Q: How did the rejections make you feel and what did you do to overcome the blows?

A: Rejections, especially from large publishers, made me question my ability and the choice that I made to write at all.  The blows went deep. I watched a lot of sci-fi.  I worked out.  I talked to my friends and family about the rejections.  Two years before I started writing the book I went through a divorce so I was still a little raw.  I grew a lot from the experience, but I wouldn’t wish it on a dog I didn’t like.

Q: When your first book was published, who published it and why did you choose them?

A: Llewellyn Publications is one of the largest New Age and Metaphysics publishers in the world.  I wanted them to accept the book and they topped a very short list that I had aimed for.

Q: How did it make you feel to become published for the first time and how did you celebrate?

A: I was on top of the world.  I took my girlfriend at the time to New York and we partied in Manhattan.  We danced, we sang, and we shopped. It was a great time.

Q: What was the first thing you did as for as promotion when you were published for the first time?

A: The PR folks at Llewellyn set me up with a series of radio interviews right away.  The interviews were very educational for me.  I had been doing a series of TV shows entitled The Doctor’s Corner in Phoenix for a number of years.  I had also done a lot of radio in the area.  That experience helped me with my anxiety about radio and facing audiences.

Q: If you had to do it over again, would you have chosen another route to be published?

A: Overall, I enjoyed the process.  I appreciate the experience now, though I don’t think I could have said that back then.

Q: Have you been published since then and how have you grown as an author?

A: I have published some collaborative works with Llewellyn, some works with Reality Press, and I have published some work independently.  I have become a much better writer.  I focus more on what my audience wants to read.  I research my characters better.  I outline my plot structures better and I craft the curves and hooks much better.

Q: Looking back since the early days when you were trying to get published, what do you think you could have done differently to speed things up?  What kind of mistakes could you have avoided?

A: I should have started writing in psychiatry sooner.  People love to hear new information about success, happiness, and overcoming obstacles.  I would probably have looked at astrology a little differently and allowed it to take more of a back seat in my writing.

Q: What has been the biggest accomplishment you have achieved since becoming published?

A: My writing helped me be named to Woodward and White’s listing of The Top Doctor’s in America.  I also won a major national award that is granted to the best researcher in astrology from the American Federation of Astrologers.

Q: If you could have chosen another profession, what would that profession be?

A: I love what I do.  I probably would have chosen medicine all over again, but I would have taken more business classes.

Q: Would you give up being an author for that profession or have you combined the best of both worlds?

A: I would have combined the best of both worlds.

Q: How do you see yourself in ten years?

A: In ten years, I see myself writing full time and traveling the world with my wife.

Q: Any final words for writers who dream of being published one day?

A: Never give up.  Follow your dreams, and don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t write.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Who We Are

Thanks for visiting Beyond the Books! Beyond the Books is a mufti-genred book blog that is syndicated into such publications as USA Today, Forbes, Chicago Times and many others. Our blog posts are picked up by journalists and reporters looking for content for their publications. Beyond the Books is one of Pump Up Your Book's in house blogs and hosts authors touring with us; however we are open to hosting other authors here as well. Click on the "Author Interviews" tab in the top navigation bar to find out how you can send us an interview. Click on the "Guest Bloggers" tab in the top navigation bar to find out how you can write a guest blog for us. You are welcome to email Dorothy Thompson at thewriterslife (at) gmail.com with any questions. Beyond the Books is strictly a book blog and is not hosting product reviews. Book reviews are on hiatus until further notice.

We support Indie Authors!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

