Home » author interviews » Interview with eXtasy Author ‘Ever the Same’ Amy Romine

Interview with eXtasy Author ‘Ever the Same’ Amy Romine

Categories

Archives



Amy Romine has always wanted to be one of the good guys. From playing ‘Charlie’s Angels’ in the backyard of her Allentown, PA home as a child, to the pages of her most recent series, The Soul Mate Chronicles, Amy has always dreamt of adventure and romance. Her need to make characters truly deserve
their happiness takes us on many a twisted journey. From serial killers to demons, Amy holds nothing back in the name of true enduring love.
A wife, mother of three, full-time corporate employee and now the author of
two compellingly addictive series and finishing a third, her entrance onto the stage of romantic suspense has been an enthralling adventure all its own. Amy started writing in high school but didn’t take the professional plunge until three years ago when a little voice told her she was meant to be doing something more…

Since her premier release of Serenity Lost in October 2010 with Extasy Books,
Amy has become the Prime Time Editor for BellaOnline, and regular contributing author to the Amazon Subscription Blog, ‘Red Lipstick Journals’. Amy is also an active eBook Author supporter lending her voice to encouraging new and indie eBook authors in striding toward their visions. Her own goal is to be a self sustaining author by 2014.

Amy currently resides in Arlington, Texas with her husband, and three children.

You can visit her online at www.amyromine.com.

Q: Welcome to Beyond the Books, Amy.  Can we start out by telling us whether you are published for the first time or are you multi-published?

I am a multi-published author with Extasy Books.

Q: When you were published for the first time, which route did you go – mainstream, small press, vanity published or self-published and why or how did you choose this route?

I guess you could say small press, Extasy gave me my shot and I took it. Ten books later we have a great relationship.

Q: How long did it take you to get published once you signed the contract?

Honestly, it happened really fast. I signed with Extasy August 2010 and my premier release hit the web October of the same year.

Q: How did it make you feel to become published for the first time and how did you celebrate?

I was thrilled, so excited to see my name on the cover of a book. It was surreal, my best friend and I screamed and jumped up and down. I don’t think we knew what else to do. LOL!

Q: What was the first thing you did as for as promotion when you were published for the first time?

I went out and pounded the digital pavement begging for reviews, banner exchanges and guest blog spots. It was the most difficult thing I have ever done in my entire life. I knew the only one who could sell my book was me, and I was damned determined!

Q: Since you’ve been published, how have you grown as a writer and now a published author?

I have learned so much from the other authors, publishers, and readers I have encountered since the beginning of my journey. Every journey, every novel is about evolution and growth. I have grown not only as a writer but as a person.

Q: What has surprised or amazed you about the publishing industry as a whole? 

The biggest surprise has been how engaging, helpful and supportive the whole community is. We are all in the same position, fighting for our dreams. Sometimes that brings out the worst in people but not the people I have met, they are all wonderful.

Q: What is the most rewarding thing about being a published author?  

Being able to say I am a published author…just kidding. But seriously, the most rewarding thing is the ability to help other authors through the struggles of being a writer. The journey is difficult and I like to pay it forward.

Q: Any final words for writers who dream of being published one day?

I found this a few years ago and I live by it, stick to these rules and you will be just fine.

  • Be gutsy enough to stand up to those who stand in your way.
  • Be big enough to admit your mistakes.
  • Be vulnerable and say, “I don’t know”
  • Be humble enough to surround yourself with people smarter and more capable than you.
  • Be open and flexible enough to adjust to ever-changing circumstances.
  • Ignore those calling for a quick fix or a cut corner.
  • Go with your gut, the instinct that feels right and knows best.
  • Do what’s right, because it is the right thing to do.
Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Who We Are

Thanks for visiting Beyond the Books! Beyond the Books is a mufti-genred book blog that is syndicated into such publications as USA Today, Forbes, Chicago Times and many others. Our blog posts are picked up by journalists and reporters looking for content for their publications but we cannot guarantee placement - that is under the discretion of the reporters and journalists. Beyond the Books is strictly a book blog and is not hosting product reviews. Book reviews are on hiatus until further notice.

We support Indie Authors!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 152 other followers

