Home » Character Interviews » Character Interview: Queen Nix from SM Blooding’s ‘The Hands of Tarot’

Character Interview: Queen Nix from SM Blooding’s ‘The Hands of Tarot’

Categories

Archives



We’re thrilled to have here today, Queen Nix, from SM Blooding’s new Steampunk, The Hands of Tarot.  Queen Nix is the Queen of Wands in Sky City.

*reviews the crowd with a supreme smile*

It is a pleasure to have her with us today at Beyond the Books!

Thank you for having me.

Thank you so for this interview, Queen Nix.  Now that the book has been written, do you feel you were fairly portrayed or would you like to set anything straight with your readers?

I do believe that Ms. Blooding penned my character quite well.

Do you feel the author did a good job colorizing your personality?  If not, how would you like to have been portrayed differently?

It does sadden me that she painted me as the villain. I am, after all, only thinking of the betterment of my people. I want them to have the greatest technologies, and the best that we can offer.

I believe Ms. Blooding’s representation of me reflects more on herself. I demand nothing but total and complete obedience. That is not the trait of a villain. They lack rules and wish harm upon others for their own selfish devices. I can assure you, am anything but that.

What do you believe is your strongest trait?

My unswerving devotion to Sky City and all over her inhabitants. I will do anything to protect her, to keep her safe. Sometimes, that means that I must protect her people from themselves.

I am capable of making the kinds of decisions no one else will. I understand that sometimes the correct decision is painful. Do we allow the rotten apple to remain among the rest, to taint and rot the others? No. Why would we treat the population of our great city any differently?

Worse trait?

I…Mmmm. I am, perhaps, too kind. I forgive too easily.

I never, however, forget.

But…too many times, my heart makes decisions I should allow my mind to make for me.

If you could choose someone in the television or movie industry to play your part if your book was made into a movie, who would that be (and you can’t say yourself!)?

Angelina Jolie. I am much prettier than she is, but she…has a power within her. I feel she could play my role with a great deal of understanding.

Do you have a love interest in the book?

*chuckle* No.

At what point of the book did you start getting nervous about the way it was going to turn out?

I am not nervous! I shall win! This was a momentary set-back, one that I was intent to give to Synn, to bring him back to me. I am where he belongs, and I shall have him back!

*flips hair behind shoulder and smiles* I never lose, dear. I always win. Synn is only prolonging the inevitable, as are all the Families who stand behind him.

If you could trade places with one of the other characters in the book, which character would you really not want to be and why?

Varik. *smiles* Because he belongs to me.

How do you feel about the ending of the book without giving too much away?

I am disappointed, but only the fact that Synn is so predictable. He fell for my trap. I had expected…more. We’ll see what he can provide in the next book. Yes?

I do have high hopes for our dear, dear boy. He has such potential, such remarkable power. Yet, he is still just a boy in the body of a man.

What words of wisdom would you give your author if she decided to write another book with you in it?

Write me well. There is nothing else.

Thank you for this interview, Queen Nix.  Will we be seeing more of you in the future?

Oh, you can be sure of that.

SM Blooding lives in Colorado with her pet rock, Rockie, and Ms. Jack, who’s a real bird. She’s still learning to play the piano and guitar, which is going marginally better, and for those of you looking for an Arabic update, she has successfully learned one word, “Yalla, people yalla!”

She’s dated vampires, werewolves, sorcerers, weapons smugglers and US Government assassins. Yes. She has stories.

Her latest book is the YA steampunk, The Hands of Tarot.

Visit SM Blooding on the web at  www.smblooding.com.

Stop by SM Blooding’s blog at http://www.smblooding.com/blog/.

Follow SM Blooding on Twitter:  https://twitter.com/#!/SMBlooding

“Like” SM Blooding on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/smblooding

Check out SM Blooding at Google+:  https://plus.google.com/u/0/101760130723468098926/posts

Follow SM Blooding at Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5234671.S_M_Blooding

Friend SM Blooding at LinkedIn:  http://www.linkedin.com/profile/edit?locale=en_US&goback=%2Enpe_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1&report%2Esuccess=jgJxTlkGP726Ky-c5KwR61IrRQHo7WkbEMb_CbEDa703MvofkxsDCc06MMP3wv3vgcoytKSrRn0L_rsfDgJjp8-

Don’t forget to check out Colorado Paranormal Rescue: http://www.coloradoparanormalrescue.com/?q=content/about-us

She killed his father.

She imprisoned and beat him.

And now she thinks he’s her trophy.

Synn El’Asim will do almost anything to prove her wrong. But he’s only proving her right.

Queen Nix awakened his Mark of power and inducted him into the House of Wands. She knew what she was doing. The son of the two most powerful Families standing against her is the ultimate prize. What she didn’t take into consideration was that maybe he was too strong for her.

Maybe.

The Families are weakened, and it’ll take a lot more than one young man with a powerful Mark to take on…

The Hands of Tarot.

~ ~ ~ WIN A SET OF TAROT DOLLS+ AUTOGRAPHED COPY OF THE HANDS OF TAROT ~ ~ ~

SM Blooding is giving away a set of Tarot Dolls and an autographed copy of The Hands of Tarot!

(CLICK ON BANNER BELOW TO ENTER!)

1 Comment

  1. smblooding says:

    Thank you so much for allowing Queen Nix to stop by!!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Who We Are

Thanks for visiting Beyond the Books! Beyond the Books is a mufti-genred book blog that is syndicated into such publications as USA Today, Forbes, Chicago Times and many others. Our blog posts are picked up by journalists and reporters looking for content for their publications. Beyond the Books is one of Pump Up Your Book's in house blogs and hosts authors touring with us; however we are open to hosting other authors here as well. Click on the "Author Interviews" tab in the top navigation bar to find out how you can send us an interview. Click on the "Guest Bloggers" tab in the top navigation bar to find out how you can write a guest blog for us. You are welcome to email Dorothy Thompson at thewriterslife (at) gmail.com with any questions. Beyond the Books is strictly a book blog and is not hosting product reviews. Book reviews are on hiatus until further notice.

We support Indie Authors!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

