Home » Romantic Suspense » Character Interview: Charlotte Dashiell from Chris Karslen’s romantic thriller, Byzantine Gold

Character Interview: Charlotte Dashiell from Chris Karslen’s romantic thriller, Byzantine Gold

Categories

Archives



character interviews logoWe’re thrilled to have here today Charlotte Dashiell from Chris Karlsen’s new romantic thriller, Byzantine Gold.  Charlotte is a 30 and a nautical archaeologist living in Istanbul, Turkey.

It is a pleasure to have her with us today at Beyond the Books!

Thank you so for this interview, Charlotte.  Now that the book has been written, do you feel you were fairly portrayed or would you like to set anything straight with your readers?

I think I was fairly portrayed. This was a very turbulent time for me. With the threat to Atakan’s life, my visa status up in the air, Atakan’s ex-girlfriend showing up asking all kinds of questions, then discovering my dive partner is a terrorist, and to top matters, Atakan’s mother making an excellent case for my leaving, I was grateful for the recovery project. It kept me focused on the wreck and from falling apart emotionally.

I am a little embarrassed about suggesting the Ipecac for Saska. I’d like the readers to know that is not something I’d normally do but the first thing I could come up with fast in that situation.

Do you feel the author did a good job colorizing your personality?  If not, how would you like to have been portrayed differently?

I think she did a good job with my personality even including my bad tendency to being secretive when I shouldn’t be.

What do you believe is your strongest trait?

My intellect, I’m a quick thinker in bad situations and logical.

Worse trait?

As I mentioned, I’m too secretive at times and it always comes back to bite me in the butt—so to speak. 

If you could choose someone in the television or movie industry to play your part if your book was made into a movie, who would that be (and you can’t say yourself!)?

Photo credit: Tyler Parker

Photo credit: Tyler Parker

I’d love Stana Katic to play me. I think she’s drop dead gorgeous and I love the fact that her character in Castle is smart and has good sense of humor. For Atakan, I see Oded Fehr. I’ve liked him since I first saw him in The Mummy. He’s handsome in a very masculine way, which I find attractive. 

Do you have a love interest in the book?

Yes, Atakan Vadim. He’s an agent with the Turkish Ministry of Culture, an archaeologist, like me. He’s one of the most honorable and ethical men I know, in addition to being handsome.

At what point of the book did you start getting nervous about the way it was going to turn out?

When Maksym Tischenko, who tried to kill Atakan once before, was spotted in Kusadasi, which isn’t that far by boat from Cyprus, where we were. At that point, Atakan and the Ministry figured he’d head to Cyprus and come after Atakan again. I worried knowing there was no way we’d discover where exactly he’d hide. He could sit on a boat any number of places off shore.

If you could trade places with one of the other characters in the book, which character would you really not want to be and why?

I wouldn’t want to be Rana. She filled her head with girlish romantic notions about Tischenko. She couldn’t have fallen for a worse man.

byzantine goldHow do you feel about the ending of the book without giving too much away?

I’m happy with it. Everything happened so fast and I’m glad I was able to participate.

What words of wisdom would you give your author if s/he decided to write another book with you in it?

I’d love for Chris to include Atakan and I in the next book, but I’d like my brother Nick to be one of the heroes as I’d also like to see Iskender in one of those roles too.

Thank you for this interview, Charlotte.  Will we be seeing more of you in the future?

Oh, I believe so.

_____________________________

chris karslenChris Karslen is a  retired police detective. She spent twenty-five years in the law enforcement with two different agencies. The daughter of a history professor and a voracious reader, she grew up with a love for history and books. She has traveled extensively throughout Europe, the Near East, and Northern Africa satisfying her passion for seeing the places she read about. A Chicago native, Chris has lived in Paris, Los Angeles, and now resides with her husband, and five rescue dogs in the Pacific Northwest.

Learn more about Chris and her work on her website and blog.

Listen to an audio interview with the author on At Random LIVE.

Watch the trailer of Byzantine Gold on YouTube.

Purchase the book on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Who We Are

Thanks for visiting Beyond the Books! Beyond the Books is a mufti-genred book blog that is syndicated into such publications as USA Today, Forbes, Chicago Times and many others. Our blog posts are picked up by journalists and reporters looking for content for their publications. Beyond the Books is one of Pump Up Your Book's in house blogs and hosts authors touring with us; however we are open to hosting other authors here as well. Click on the "Author Interviews" tab in the top navigation bar to find out how you can send us an interview. Click on the "Guest Bloggers" tab in the top navigation bar to find out how you can write a guest blog for us. You are welcome to email Dorothy Thompson at thewriterslife (at) gmail.com with any questions. Beyond the Books is strictly a book blog and is not hosting product reviews. Book reviews are on hiatus until further notice.

We support Indie Authors!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

