Beyond the Books

Home » author interviews » Interview with Children’s Book Author Grace Reddick

Interview with Children’s Book Author Grace Reddick

Categories

Archives



With the release of her first book, “Ashley’s Unforgettable Summer,” Grace Reddick has joined the rank of published authors. She has collected friends and memories along the way. She say’s enduring friendships play an important role in her life.

Grace was born and grew up in Savannah, GA and moved to Ellabell, GA in 1970. She is a born again child of God, and has been a member of FaulkvilleBaptistChurch since 1995.

She is a member of the International Society of Poets, a member of The Christian Pen and a member of Authors Den. Grace has donated books to all the school’s and libraries she has been invited to. She wants children to have access to the book, and believes that reading is a vital part of learning.

Grace has always loved to write for her own pleasure. She began to journal many years ago, and found it to bring healing for her mind and spirit. It also enabled her to seek and express her inner self.

Grace has written poetry for the local paper, as well as articles and poetry upon request. She had always admired writers, and hoped that one day she would be able to achieve that same prestige . After a short period she put her writings aside for several years. She wasn’t quite sure why, maybe the timing wasn’t right. Last year Grace realized that she should pursue the talent that God had given her. She once again began to create a story, populate it with characters, and act out the ideas that were buzzing around in her head.

You can visit her website at www.grace4books.com.

Welcome to Beyond the Books, Grace. Can you tell us whether you are published for the first time or multi-published? Can you give us the title(s) of your book(s)?

This is my first book, and I’m currently writing another, also for children. The title of the book is “Ashley’s Unforgettable Summer.”

What was the name of your very first book regardless of whether it was published or not and, if not published, why?

This is the first book that I have written.

For your first published book, how many rejections did you go through before you either found a mainstream publisher, self-published it, or paid a vanity press to publish it?

I did not seek out the mainstream publisher. I went with Xlibris, a vanity press.

How did the rejections make you feel and what did you do to overcome the blows?

Using Xlibris I didn’t have this problem.

When your first book was published, who published it and why did you choose them?

Xlibris sent me a couple of emails after seeing my profile on Yahoo. I chose to go with them because I knew it could take several months, or longer to be accepted through the traditional way of publishing.

How did it make you feel to become published for the first time and how did you celebrate?

I was beyond excited. I feel as if I am now living my dream.

What was the first thing you did as for as promotion when you were published for the first time?

I called the local television stations and appeared on all of them.

If you had to do it over again, would you have chosen another route to be published?

I truly believe that I would have. This has turned out to be quite expensive, with all of the add on’s.

Have you been published since then and how have you grown as an author?

Currently this is the only book I have published, and it has been a learning experience. Without any writing experience, I had to learn along the way. I subscribed to almost anything that had to do with writing, and applied all that I could. I had the story, I just didn’t know how to put it down on paper correctly.

Looking back since the early days when you were trying to get published, what do you think you could have done differently to speed things up? What kind of mistakes could you have avoided?

If I had taken courses, preferable online, I probably would have completed the book sooner. I wasn’t exactly thrilled over the changes my editor suggested. However, I did take his advice, on everything.

What has been the biggest accomplishment you have achieved since becoming published?

Experience, knowledge and confidence. I continue to learn and achieve each day.

If you could have chosen another profession, what would that profession be?

There is no other profession that could possibly give me the fulfillment and gratification that writing has.

Would you give up being an author for that profession or have you combined the best of both worlds?

I don’t believe anything could compare, at least for me.

How do you see yourself in ten years?

I strive for a life of total success, financial, discipline and balance. I strive also to become an author of diversity.

Any final words for writers who dream of being published one day?

If you give yourself permission to tap into that pool within you, you will always write what you know. The only knowledge that’s unique to you, is the knowledge of your heart. Write from those places that no one else can, and you will touch readers in ways that no one else ever will.

Technorati Tags:
, , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments

  1. Great interview, Grace! Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

  2. June Dozier says:

    You truly inspire me. Keep up the great work.

  3. Wow, you appeared on television stations as the first thing you did for promotion, Grace? A lot of authors would love to say that!

  4. […] author of the children’s book, Ashley’s Unforgettable Summer, will be stopping off at Beyond the Books! Ashley was beginning to question herself. Had she made the right decision by bringing this […]

  5. Tasha says:

    This story was so exciting. My children couldn’t stop laughing. I can hardly wait to read your next book Forsaken Land.

    I wish you much success.

    Tasha

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

