Home » Horror » Interview with Horror Writer Joel M. Andre

Interview with Horror Writer Joel M. Andre

Categories

Archives



kill-4-me Joel M. Andre was born January 13, 1981 in Cottonwood, AZ. He began writing back in 1994 on a personal level, discovering the passion and feeling the words brought him. Although more of a hobby at the time, he collected his works and in 1999 released the poem The Midnight Express. It received positive feedback, and was quickly followed by For the Salem Witch. To date Joel has released over 60 poems, and 3 books.

Pray the Rain Never Ends was the first book, which includes the poem he wrote for his nephew Christopher Andre. A gripping work that shows a different side to the creator of work that usually holds a darker flair.

The follow up book A Death at the North Pole brought a new side of Joel out. This was a dark journey through a winter wonderland, and provided a more in depth look at Joel and his long form writing.

Most recently Joel released the book Kill 4 Me, a technological ghost story, of a woman haunted by a vengeful spirit through the use of a cell phone and computer.

With a passion for writing, you can tell Joel loves what he does. Although some would say his imagination runs more left field, there is no denying his original thoughts and ideas will provide enjoyment for years to come.

You can visit his website at www.joelmandre.com.

Welcome to Beyond the Books, Joel. Can you tell us whether you are published for the first time or multi-published?

Thank you for having me on your website. I am a multi-published author.

Can you give us the title(s) of your book(s)?

Of course, I would be happy to. The books currently available by me are: ‘Pray the Rain Never End’, ‘A Death at the North Pole’, ‘Kill 4 Me’, ‘The Price of Blood’

What was the name of your very first book regardless of whether it was published or not and, if not published, why?

The first book I had written was called, ‘Let’s Play Murder’, it has been bought by two small publishing companies, both of which folded before the release. I regain the rights to the book, and am planning on releasing it soon.

For your first published book, how many rejections did you go through before you either found a mainstream publisher, self-published it, or paid a vanity press to publish it?

I never wanted to go mainstream and lose the part of my soul in a book. If I went with a publisher, it would be an independent small press. My passion is for the written word, not for wealth. Plus, I know my books aren’t for everyone, I won’t be considered mainstream ever I think.

How did the rejections make you feel and what did you do to overcome the blows?

Well, I would imagine I would roll with the punches on a rejection. No means step it up a level next time, keep growing; it’ll happen when the time is right.

When your first book was published, who published it and why did you choose them?

I chose Lulu.com because I like their name. I had a dog I called lulu all the time. So it was a match.

How did it make you feel to become published for the first time and how did you celebrate?

It felt alright, I really had no expectations, and figured if it was something people wanted to read, they could grab a copy. I was just having a good time doing the writing. I did get a tattoo when ‘Kill 4 Me’ hit #2 on the Horror: Ghosts list on the Kindle.

What was the first thing you did as far as promotion when you were published for the first time?

I sent out a mass e-mail to everyone in all my e-mail accounts. I really didn’t focus heavy on the promotion side.

If you had to do it over again, would you have chosen another route to be published?

No way, I think the route I am heading down keeps me grounded as a person.

Have you been published since then and how have you grown as an author?

I have been published since then yes, and I think the detail in my books, and my thoughts are deeper and richer. You continue to grow with every book you write.

Looking back since the early days when you were trying to get published, what do you think you could have done differently to speed things up?

Not allowing me to be my own road block would have been the biggest one. Others believed in me, and pushed me. If I would have made the jump earlier, I would be farther along, but not as real I think.

What kind of mistakes could you have avoided?

Trusting people at face value. Also, I wouldn’t tell many people I was published, they get this idea you are something you are not.

What has been the biggest accomplishment you have achieved since becoming published?

Having 2 books hit the top 10 on various EBook charts.

If you could have chosen another profession, what would that profession be?

I would be a vet. I love animals. They have a great value to their life.

Would you give up being an author for that profession or have you combined the best of both worlds?

I would give up everything to know I was saving an animal. As my fans know, I am a supporter of the ASPCA.

How do you see yourself in ten years?

Living with the person of my dreams, writing books that touch people’s soul, on a no kill shelter for all animals that I run.

Any final words for writers who dream of being published one day?

Nothing is more powerful then your dreams. Keep them firm and strong to your heart. If your dream is to be a writer, start as young as you can, and submit those stories and poems everywhere. Dreams come true.

2 Comments

  1. Great interview!

    Sounds like we’re both animal people.

    Take care,

    William

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Very nice interview. It sounds like you’ve had a great career that suits you nicely — would that we could all say that! And I can’t tell for sure, but it sounds like you’ve managed to avoid the pain of so many would-be published authors, multiple rejections. Authors struggling with rejection should take a look at this site begun by Mary Patrick Kavanaugh. She wrote this great book that has been rejected multiple times, so she’s holding a funeral for it! What a hoot. But it also forms a gathering spot for the really unfunny reality of rejection — and how others cope with it. Have a rejected novel? This could be the spot for it.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Who We Are

Thanks for visiting Beyond the Books! Beyond the Books is a mufti-genred book blog that is syndicated into such publications as USA Today, Forbes, Chicago Times and many others. Our blog posts are picked up by journalists and reporters looking for content for their publications. Beyond the Books is one of Pump Up Your Book's in house blogs and hosts authors touring with us; however we are open to hosting other authors here as well. Click on the "Author Interviews" tab in the top navigation bar to find out how you can send us an interview. Click on the "Guest Bloggers" tab in the top navigation bar to find out how you can write a guest blog for us. You are welcome to email Dorothy Thompson at thewriterslife (at) gmail.com with any questions. Beyond the Books is strictly a book blog and is not hosting product reviews. Book reviews are on hiatus until further notice.

We support Indie Authors!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

