Beyond the Books

Home » author interviews » Interview with ‘Sarah, They’re Coming For You’ Susan Kronick

Interview with ‘Sarah, They’re Coming For You’ Susan Kronick

Categories

Archives



Susan Kronick’s background is the perfect backdrop leading up to her latest paranormal novel, Sarah, They’re Coming for You.  She has a Master of Science in Psychology from Nova Southeastern University and a Ph.D. in Paranormal Studies/Psychology from Union Institute and Graduate School, as well as being an adjunct psychology professor at Barry University and Palm Beach State College.  A psychic and a medium, she has the gift of seeing the dead since she was a child.  She also has taught parapsychology classes through the Palm Beach County School Board, as well as at Palm Beach State College.  Susan has extensive experience in the area of investigations of haunting and the paranormal.  She lives with her husband and her four spoiled rescue dogs in south Florida.  You can visit her website at www.susankronick.webs.com. “Like” her page at Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/pages/susan-kronick/156870670886.

Q: Welcome to Beyond the Books, Susan.  Can we start out by telling us whether you are published for the first time or are you multi-published?

I am published for the first time.

Q: When you were published for the first time, which route did you go – mainstream, small press, vanity published or self-published and why or how did you choose this route?

I went with Wild Child Publishers, a small, traditional e/print publishing company.  I decided early on I would not self-publish or use a vanity press.  I didn’t want to invest any money in the publishing of my book.  If my novel had not been accepted by a traditional publisher, I would not be a published author.

Q: How long did it take you to get published once you signed the contract?

It took exactly thirteen months from signing the contract to release date.  I didn’t begin the complete editing process until six months in from the date of signing the contract, as the editors were back logged.  The editing took about seven months.

Q: How did it make you feel to become published for the first time and how did you celebrate?

Becoming a published author was one thing I was now able to cross of my “bucket-list”!!!  I think my husband and family were more excited than I was at being a published author!  I was super excited signing the contract, but when the book was finally released, the stress of being a financially successful author kicked in!  I was definitely not going to quit my day job! I celebrated the release of my book by kicking back with a glass of wine and thanking God.

Q: What was the first thing you did as far as promotion when you were published for the first time?

I contacted the local newspaper, who ran a great article.  I signed on with Pump up your Book, an online virtual book tour PR company.  I signed on with them for April/May 2011.In June I will be the featured author in Paranormal Underground Magazine.  I am in need of a talent/booking agent to promote me as a medium and paranormal investigator.

Q: Since you’ve been published, how have you grown as a writer and now a published author?

Writing a novel is so different from other types of publications.  The editors worked wonders with my manuscript.  The never ending rounds of editing transformed my amateur book into a well written and polished novel. I had no idea there were so many words to avoid using when penning a novel, as well as abiding by the adage, “show don’t tell” your story, grab the reader in to the plot, so they feel a part of the action.

Q: What has surprised or amazed you about the publishing industry as a whole?

I had no idea marketing my book would be more difficult than writing it!  I have no business sense at all.  I have been a professor for the last sixteen years. I teach classes and I receive a paycheck   I hate everything about the business end of publishing.  Had I known it would be so time consuming and arduous to sell my novel, I don’t think I would have undertaken the task.

Q: What is the most rewarding thing about being a published author?

When readers tell you how much they enjoyed my book!  It’s the same gratifying feeling I get when a student tells me I’m a great teacher.

Q: Any final words for writers who dream of being published one day?

Have a business plan to market your book BEFORE you get published.  It will give the writer a realistic sense of what they can expect once their book is in the marketplace with the thousands of other books out there!

1 Comment

  1. Cheryl says:

    I loved this book! I have heard that the writing is the easy part, it’s selling the book that is the hard part.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

