Beyond the Books

Home » author interviews » Interview with R.G. Bullet – Author of The Caldecott Chronicles

Interview with R.G. Bullet – Author of The Caldecott Chronicles

Categories

Archives



What is your name and where do you call home?

My name is, R. G. Bullet. I was born in England but call Miami my home now.

What is the name of your most recent book and if you had to sum it up in 20 or less words, what would you say?

My book: “The Caldecott Chronicles No.1” (short story)  A dystopian steampunk romp, not for the faint, of heart as zombies are slaughtered in macabre and humorous ways.

Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series?

Yes, new books are on their way. “The Caldecott Chronicles” is a series, with two short stories already available. The third is being pulled out of the oven, and the fourth is being marinated.

What or who inspired you to start writing? And how long have you been writing?

It wasn’t inspiration, but it worked. A teacher at my boarding school wrote in the end of term report that I was quite a good writer. Which is a tepid form of encouragement, but all I needed, thank you very much. So I have been writing ever since.

Do you gift books to readers for book reviews?

Yes. Ask and you shall receive!

Send an email to: rgbullet58@gmail.com Please write: DEAR IGOR in subject line. My hunched and over-worked assistant, Igor Slobonovitch, will send gift with a day or two. If not, I will have him thrashed…again.

Which is your favourite cover of all the books you have written?

The 58th Keeper” was the first, and I am very fond of it. The original artwork was painted by Christina Kelly (oil-on-board) but I have to say “The Caldecott Chronicles” was a lot of fun too – drawn by the very talented Michael Gray.

How did you come up with the title for your book?

I wanted the readers to know it is an ongoing series, hence Chronicles. Caldecott just sounded right. It wasn’t till after I had completed the first three stories that I realised there is a hamlet in the North of England called Caldecott. I am pretty sure there are absolutely no Zombies there, and that there is no immediate cause for concern. I apologize if it has caused the residents any distress. Coincidentally, the very pretty churchyard in Caldecott is exactly what I had in mind when the undead crawl up out of their graves…

Is there anything you would change about your book? And why?

Having re-written, re-written and edited them several times I am happy with the results, and it seems  to show in the reader’s reviews.

Do you prefer e-books, paperbacks, hardcovers or audio books?

I still have hundreds of books lying around, but during the last year I have swung off the dusty shelves straight into the digital realm. Paper books are like an E-type Jaguar for me now. I love them but not for daily use.

Have you ever read a book more than once? And if so what was it?

I have read many books more than once. But the one seems to stand out is “The First Great Train Robbery” by Michael Crichton. It’s packed with fascinating nuggets of information about old London. Crichton builds pace and tension so superbly that I could read it again even now.

Have you ever bought a specific edition of a book because of its cover? (For example a UK, US or Canadian version)

No. But it is certainly adds spice to the overall buying decision—even if it is just a dash. There are lots of great books out there with mediocre covers and vice versa.

Has the quality of the cover of a book ever put you off of reading it?

No. I still do what my father advised years ago: open a book up and start reading. If the voice doesn’t grab you, then move on. But I’d like to challenge any bestselling author to make a seriously hideous cover and see if it puts his readers off. That’d be fun. The ugliest, most repellent book cover ever made!

What book are you reading at the moment? And in what format

Today I am reading Ridley Pearson’s and Dave Barry’s “A Bridge to Neverland”. This version is hardback, as I just got it signed by them both at the Miami Book Fair. I usually I prefer eBooks though.

Do you have any advice for other writers? And what’s the best advice that you have been given when it comes to writing?

I have written about this in a fun way on www.thewindsortimes.com but am happy to add fresh material here by advising that we all ought to read a lot more. Apparently 1 in 4 Americans (probably British and the World too) read zero books last year. That’s a huge loss. We need to redress the balance. My advice is make up for this lazy 25% and read what they didn’t! So if you’re in the 75% who read just four books last year, I am challenging you to read four more books. So that’s eight books you need to read in 2012. But as I like round numbers, I’m saying read ten—no, twelve – one book a month. That’ll help your writing tremendously. Here is a persuasive blog post that will help you: ow.ly/7BBJG

Where can your readers follow you?

A competition to win a Kindle and Nook

Blog: http://bit.ly/lmQjrR

Facebook page: http://on.fb.me/utf5SD

Goodreads author page: http://bit.ly/saEI5E

Twitter: http://bit.ly/tndhpj

Other: TheWindsorTimes

Amazon Kindle edition: http://amzn.to/vkJ6Bo

Other: www.rgbullet.com

Thank you so much for taking the time to do this interview and allowing us a glimpse into your writing world!

My pleasure. Thanks for the great questions, and I look forward to coming back.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

