Beyond the Books

Home » Character Interviews » Character Interview: Jamie Collins from Michael Bowler’s romantic thriller ‘A Matter of Time’

Character Interview: Jamie Collins from Michael Bowler’s romantic thriller ‘A Matter of Time’

Categories

Archives



We’re thrilled to have here today Jamie Collins from Michael Bowler’s new romantic thriller, A Matter of Time.  Jamie is a 20-year-old college student living in Santa Clara, California.

It is a pleasure to have him with us today at Beyond the Books!

Thank you so for this interview, Jamie.  Now that the book has been written, do you feel you were fairly portrayed or would you like to set anything straight with your readers?

Actually, I feel I was excellently portrayed, maybe better than I could’ve portrayed myself. And I’m an aspiring writer, too.

Do you feel the author did a good job colorizing your personality?  If not, how would you like to have been portrayed differently?

He could’ve described me as dashingly handsome to the point that ladies swooned in my presence. Ha! Sadly, that would’ve been true fiction. As to my personality, I feel he got it just right. I’m kind of an introspective guy, even shy at times, and that can be a difficult character trait to make interesting. But I think Mike hit just the right note in describing my interactions with the other characters as well as with the events that befell me.

What do you believe is your strongest trait?

Honorability, maybe loyalty. I confront some very difficult moral dilemmas in this story and had to make very weighty decisions. My honorable nature, I believe, is what impelled me to make the right choices.

Worse trait?

Self-doubt. I second-guess my decisions too much, even when others tell me I made the right one.

If you could choose someone in the television or movie industry to play your part if your book was made into a movie, who would that be (and you can’t say yourself!)?

Ezra Miller is a phenomenal actor and he’d be outstanding playing me (plus he’s better looking than me, too, and that doesn’t hurt – Ha!)

Do you have a love interest in the book?

Yes. Actually, there are two, but only one is my soul mate. Sounds corny, I know, but I do find the love of my life along this journey. (sigh)

At what point of the book did you start getting nervous about the way it was going to turn out?

About the time I realized I had no way to get off Titanic and was going to go down with the ship. I’d planned everything out so perfectly, except how to get myself off the ship!

If you could trade places with one of the other characters in the book, which character would you really not want to be and why?

Jay, because he’s cynical and bitter about life and I wouldn’t want to go through life that way.

How do you feel about the ending of the book without giving too much away?

Fate is pretty cruel to me in this story, and I’m kind of a basket case at the end. Still, I come to a better appreciation of who I am than I had at the beginning, and I’m hopeful that all the pain I endured can be turned into something positive.

What words of wisdom would you give your author if s/he decided to write another book with you in it?

Maybe not quite so much pain and suffering thrown my way next time, huh? How about showing me some love, eh, Mike?

Thank you for this interview, Jamie.  Will we be seeing more of you in the future?

Very likely, since I kind of, inadvertently, changed the timeline ever so slightly, but even a slight alteration can have devastating consequences, and, unfortunately, those consequences will fall on me like the proverbial ton of bricks. Oh well . . .

Michael Bowler grew up in San Rafael, California. He attended St. Raphael’s School and Marin Catholic High School before attending Santa Clara University. Titanic and her tragic fate fascinated him for as far back as he can remember. He has a vast collection of artwork, memorabilia and virtually every book ever written about the disaster.

He majored in English and Theatre at Santa Clara and got a master’s in film production from Loyola Marymount University. He partnered with two friends as producer, writer, and/or director on several films, most notably “Fatal Images,” “Dead Girls,” “Hell Spa” (later re-edited and titled “Club Dead”), “Things” and “Things II.”

He has written a number of unproduced screenplays and is currently working on other novels he has outlined. He’s been teaching high school in Hawthorne, California for over twenty years.

He has also been a volunteer Big Brother to seven different boys over 28 years with the Catholic Big Brothers Big Sisters program and a volunteer within the juvenile justice system in Los Angeles for 27 years.  He is a passionate advocate for the fair treatment of children and teens in California, something that is sorely lacking in this state.

His first novel, A Boy and His Dragon, was originally written in the 1980’s before fantasy stories enjoyed a major renaissance, and has remained unpublished to this day. It is intended as the first of a trilogy.

A Matter of Time, his second novel, was originally written in the 1980’s and completed in the mid-1990’s as time permitted.

You can visit Michael on the web at www.michaeljbowler.webs.com.

Follow Michael Bowler on Twitter:  https://twitter.com/#!/BradleyWallaceM

Friend Michael Bowler at Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1377702356

Pick up a paperback copy of Michael Bowler’s A MATTER OF TIME at Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/A-Matter-Time-Michael-Bowler/dp/143278711X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1344430749&sr=8-1&keywords=michael+bowler

Download your electronic copy of Michael Bowler’s A MATTER OF TIME at Amazon Kindle Store:  http://www.amazon.com/A-Matter-of-Time-ebook/dp/B007GOAC9C/ref=tmm_kin_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1344430749&sr=8-1

Purchase your paperback copy of Michael Bowler’s A MATTER OF TIME at Barnes & Noble:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-matter-of-time-michael-bowler/1109296752

Pick up a copy of Michael Bowler’s A MATTER OF TIME at Outskirts Press:   http://outskirtspress.com/webpage.php?ISBN=9781432787110

http://www.amazon.com/A-Matter-Time-Michael-Bowler/dp/143278711X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1333825240&sr=8-1

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-matter-of-time-michael-bowler/1109296752?ean=9781432787110&itm=1&usri=michael+bowler+a+matter+of+time

What is your destiny?

This question haunts 20-year-old Jamie Collins. A junior at Santa Clara University in 1986, Jamie has friends, a  professor who mentors him, and a promising future as a writer.

Then the dreams begin – nightmarish visions that transport him back to a time and place fifty years before he was born: Titanic’s maiden voyage in 1912!  Less than a week before the 74th anniversary of its sinking, Jamie discovers that his fate is inexplicably linked to that of the famous vessel. Somehow, the two timelines are overlapping, and when Titanic dies this time, Jamie will die along with it.

The dreams reveal something evil stalking the ill-fated ship, something that expedites the collision which sinks her. Jamie realizes that the only way to stop this evil and prevent his own death may be to prevent Titanic from sinking in the first place.

But how? How can he stop that ship from sinking in 1912 when he hadn’t even been born yet? And even if he can stop it – should he? What will be the effect on history if he succeeds? Jamie’s quest to fulfill his destiny ties friendsand  family together  in ways he could never have  imagined.

A Matter of Time is an emotionally charged voyage into the value of friendship, the power of love, the impact of evil, and the vagaries of Fate.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

