Beyond the Books

Home » author interviews » A Conversation with Kyle Scott, author of ‘The Federalist Papers’

A Conversation with Kyle Scott, author of ‘The Federalist Papers’

Categories

Archives



Kyle Scott, PhD, teaches American politics and constitutional law at Duke University. He has published three books and dozens of articles on issues ranging from political parties to Plato. His commentary on contemporary politics has appeared in Forbes, Reuters.com, Christian Science Monitor, Foxnews.com, and dozens of local outlets including the Philadelphia Inquirer and Baltimore Sun.

To find out more, please visit http://kyleascott.wordpress.com

Find him on Twitter at : ScottKyleA

Find him on Facebook at : http://www.facebook.com/kyleasc

Welcome to Beyond the Books Kyle! Can you start out by telling us whether you are published for the first time or are you multi-published?

This is my fourth book. I have also written nearly a hundred articles spread between popular outlets like the Huffington Post and Forbes and academic outlets like Polis and Contagion.

When you were published for the first time, which route did you go – mainstream, small press, vanity published, or self-published and why or how did you choose this route?

I went with an academic publisher, Lexington Books, as it was an academic audience I was trying to court. Moving up in academia requires one to go that route.

How long did it take you to get published once you signed the contract?

I usually have completed manuscript (which takes me a year to write) before I start shopping for a press. After the contract is signed there is a review process that precedes publication. So this takes about another year before my completed manuscript gets published.

The-Federalist-PapersHow did it make you feel to become published for the first time and how did you celebrate?

Once a book, or article, gets published I move on to the next thing. There are too many issues to address to celebrate what has already been completed. Also, the work of people to read the book gets underway once it has been published. I’m not one to celebrate accomplishments. I’m only 35, there is still a lot left to do.

What was the first thing you did as far as promotion when you were published for the first time?

The first time I was clueless and did nothing. Now I work my professional networks and have people who know something about promotion help me secure blog posts and radio spots. Plus I write a lot of op-eds that help draw attention to my projects.

What is the most rewarding thing about being a published author?

Knowing that I will always be remembered.

Any final words for writers who dream of being published one day?

Write and don’t stop. Send it before it’s perfect, because it never will be anyway.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

