Beyond the Books

Home » Character Interviews » Character Interview: Abner Summeral from Patrick C Greene’s horror novel PROGENY

Character Interview: Abner Summeral from Patrick C Greene’s horror novel PROGENY

Categories

Archives



character interviews logoWe’re thrilled to have here today Abner from Patrick C Greene’s new horror adventure PROGENY.  Abner is a fifty four year old hunter living in Eagle Ridge North Carolina. It is a pleasure to have him with us today at Beyond the Books!

Thank you so for this interview, Abner.  Now that the book has been written, do you feel you were fairly portrayed or would you like to set anything straight with your readers?

Progeny for mayraPleasure to be here, (ma’am/sir.) I reckon he done a right smart job-I was a skeered all over again, even after all this time, when I read his book. I would like to say that I don’t think I was quite as skittish as he made me out to be, but all them other fellers-the ones what stayed alive, they all say I was actin’ purdy womanly, and I gotta admit–I try not to think about it too much anymore, so I reckon I was frazzled, what with them monsters and the storm, and Zane arguin’ with that Owen fella.

Do you feel the author did a good job colorizing your personality?  If not, how would you like to have been portrayed differently?

I aint claimin’ to be as brave and tough as our leader Zane, or even them other fellers. But considerin’ we was surrounded by huge monsters, in the dark, with rain a pourin’ and lightning crackin’, THEN they made me stay alone in that basement with a dead body, I think I deserve a little credit for not losin’ my damn mind! I mean, Mister Greene is the one tellin’ the story and all, and I don’t presume to tell him how to do his job, but I wouldn’t a minded him talkin’ ’bout me holdin’ it together while all that craziness was a goin’ on. I mean, there wasn’t no need to tell about me peeing myself.

What do you believe is your strongest trait?

Well, I’ve always trusted ol’ Zane to lead us in the right direction when push comes to shove-and he’s given me a pat on the back now and then for my loyalty. So I guess that’d be it-loyalty.

Worse trait?

Yeah, okay, I spook a little easy. Them monsters was the scariest thing I’ve ever known, so maybe I’ll be a little bit braver from now on.

If you could choose someone in the television or movie industry to play your part if your book was made into a movie, who would that be (and you can’t say yourself!)? 

Now that’s a right nice question! I like ol’ Robert Mitchum, Clint Eastwood, fellers like that that you see in westerns, but I get the feeling they’d probably go with that guy that played Newman on that crazy Steinfeld show.

Do you have a love interest in the book?

Well, no. I’m married, but that don’t come up in Mister Greene’s book. That fella Owen, the guy whose house we hid in, he got to get up with that nice lookin’ Deanne girl from the local tribe. Judgin’ by how little she was wearin’ when we got there, I bet…well, you know.

At what point of the book did you start getting nervous about the way it was going to turn out?

Zane was already in a sour mood when we started out on the huntin’ trip, ’cause we wasn’t supposed to be on Owen’s land.  Zane’s boy Byron didn’t wanna be there and they was arguin’, so we was all on edge a bit. Then Byron told that damn spooky story over the fire. Next day, wouldn’t you know it–Yancey and them saw that monster. We shoulda left right then and there–but that wasn’t how Zane wanted it. That’s when I knew we was all lookin’ at trouble.

If you could trade places with one of the other characters in the book, which character would you really not want to be and why?

Everybody had a pretty rough time that night, to say the least. But Mister Greenementioned the Sheriff comin’ in after all the mess.  He got away with not havin’ to deal with them beasts, or nothin’. So, even though he aint in the book much, I’d take his place in a heartbeat.

How do you feel about the ending of the book without giving too much away?

I’m just glad the whole thing’s over; and when I read the endin’ I’m glad all over again. That was the most terrifyin’ night of my life. He told it right, that’s for sure. We went through hell, if you’ll pardon my French.

What words of wisdom would you give your author if he decided to write another book with you in it?

I’d just like to say, aint nobody wants to read about me peein’ myself when the shit hits the fan. Also, I’d like for everybody to know I aint that scared all the time no more. Least ways, I hope not, and I don’t feel the need to find out.

Thank you for this interview, Abner.  Will we be seeing more of you in the future?

Might  be, but I hope it aint a monster story. None of us wants to go back up on that damn mountain. But I’ve always thought, when I’m all alone with my thoughts–aint nothin’ keepin’ them things from walkin’ offa their own territory. Leastways, I caint think of anything capable of stoppin’ ’em.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Some dark serendipity plopped a young Patrick Greene in front of a series of ever stranger films-and experiences-in his formative years, leading to a unique viewpoint. His odd interests have led to pursuits in film acting, paranormal patrick for mayrainvestigation, martial arts, quantum physics, bizarre folklore and eastern philosophy. These elements flavor his screenplays and fiction works, often leading to strange and unexpected detours designed to keep viewers and readers on their toes.

Literary influences range from Poe to Clive Barker to John Keel to a certain best selling Bangorian. Suspense, irony, and outrageously surreal circumstances test the characters who populate his work, taking them and the reader on a grandly bizarre journey into the furthest realms of darkness. The uneasy notion that reality itself is not only relative but indeed elastic- is the hallmark of Greene’s writing.

Website: http://www.PatrickCGreene.com

Purchase PROGENY on AMAZON.

3 Comments

  1. jake says:

    Good read. This book is a solid read. Thanks for the suggestion.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

