Beyond the Books

Home » Uncategorized » Up Close and Personal with Cynthia Dagnal-Myron, author of ‘The Keka Collection’

Up Close and Personal with Cynthia Dagnal-Myron, author of ‘The Keka Collection’

Categories

Archives



Cynthia Dagnal-Myron is an award-winning former reporter for both the Chicago Sun Times andArizona Daily Star.  She is also the first black woman to become a rock critic for a “major metropolitan daily,” and her articles appeared in Rolling Stone and Creem, under the tutelage of  legendary rock critic Lester Bangs.

But one day…she just walked away from all of it.  And never looked back.

This is her story, as told via Keka’s Blog, at Open Salon.

The thing about me is that I ….. truly believe you can do anything.  ANYTHING.

When I first get up in the morning, I …..pick up the laptop on my bed and start writing

The most important thing in my life is …..my daughter 

I love to travel to ….. the North Rim of the Grand Canyon via the nearby Hopi Reservation where my friends and in laws are always so happy to see me

In my spare time, I ….. write some more…

One thing I learned about life was ….. that if you have the courage to reach for your dreams, an unseen power will help you make them come true

The sole mission I am on this earth is to ….. use the power of words to inspire and transform…

One little known fact about me that might surprise you is ….. I love rodeos and cowboys…

My favorite time of day is ….. the wee hours of the morning when the sky and my muse are waking  up but my family and neighbors are still asleep…

I love to write about … the people I love, including the fictional ones who have nagged me into telling their stories…

The most difficult aspect about writing is ….. having faith that the deeper meaning will reveal itself in time…

My most favorite aspect about writing is ….. that magical moment when the story or article begins to write itself and I feel as if I’m transcribing rather than composing…

When I became a published author for the first time, I ….. knew that the adventure was truly beginning which was both thrilling and terrifying…

The inspiration behind my book comes from ….. the aforementioned adventure and the people, places and things I’ve experienced along the way…

The most asked question about my book is ….. Arnold Schwarzenegger—really?

The Keka CollectionThe Keka Collection is a compilation of blog posts from “Keka’s “Blog, once one of the most popular blogs on Open Salon

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

