Beyond the Books

Home » Uncategorized » Character Interview: Maggie Harrison from Deanna Lynn Sletten’s women’s fiction novel, Maggie’s Turn

Character Interview: Maggie Harrison from Deanna Lynn Sletten’s women’s fiction novel, Maggie’s Turn

Categories

Archives



Deanna Sletten 7Deanna Lynn Sletten writes women’s fiction and romance novels that dig deeply into the lives of the characters, giving the reader an in-depth look into their hearts and souls. She has also written one middle-grade novel that takes you on the adventure of a lifetime.

Deanna’s romance novel, Memories, was a semifinalist in The Kindle Book Review’s Best Indie Books of 2012. Her novel, Sara’s Promise, was a semifinalist in The Kindle Book Review’s Best Indie Books of 2013 and a finalist in the 2013 National Indie Excellence Book Awards.

Deanna is married and has two grown children. When not writing, she enjoys walking the wooded trails around her northern Minnesota home with her beautiful Australian Shepherd or relaxing in the boat on the lake in the summer.

Her latest book is the contemporary women’s fiction, Maggie’s Turn.

Visit Deanna at her website at www.deannalsletten.com.

Connect & Socialize with Deanna!

FACEBOOK | TWITTER

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About the Book:

Maggie's Turn 7Maggie Harrison is a devoted wife and mother, always putting the needs of her family ahead of her own. Then, one day, without planning to, she drives away, leaving behind an indifferent husband and two sulking teenagers. Maggie goes off on a quest of self-exploration, enjoying adventures, meeting new people, and rediscovering her passions. For the first time in years, she dreams about what she wants out of life, and she realizes that her deteriorating marriage can no longer continue as it is. Can she and Andrew repair their floundering relationship, or is their marriage over?

Andrew Harrison likes his life to be in perfect order. He enjoys his work and status in the community, leaving Maggie to take care of everything at home. He knows his marriage isn’t perfect, but after twenty-three years and two kids, whose marriage is? When Maggie leaves without a word, he is forced to start paying more attention to his home life and his almost grown children, and he begins to do a little self-exploration of his own. Slowly, he begins to understand what drove Maggie away, and how important she is in his life. Is it too late to resolve their differences and save their marriage? Or will Andrew lose Maggie forever?

Purchase your copy at AMAZON or BARNES & NOBLE

 

Character Interview:

We’re thrilled to have here today, Maggie, from Deanna Lynn Sletten’s new women’s fiction novel, Maggie’s Turn. Maggie is a 43 year old caregiver/aspiring photographer living in Woodroe, MN.

It is a pleasure to have her with us today at Beyond the Books!

Thank you so for this interview, Maggie.  Can you tell us a little about yourself?

Thank you so much for inviting me. I’m happy to be here. My name is Margaret, but everyone calls me Maggie. I grew up all over the United States as the daughter of a Navy serviceman. My father raised me and my younger sister, Amy, alone after my mother ran off when I was five years old. My father’s last post was in Seattle, Washington, where he was originally from, and that is where I finished high school and went to college. I met my husband, Andrew Harrison, in college and after he graduated, (he’s two years older than me), we married and moved to his hometown of Woodroe, MN. We’ve been married 23 years and have two lovely children, Kyle, 19 and Kaia, 14. I’ve worked the past few years to earn extra money at a group home for challenged adults, and although I enjoy working with these wonderful people, my passion is to be a professional photographer and own a shop where I can sell my work as well as the work of other area artists. I’m afraid, though, that if my life keeps going in the direction it has been, I may never realize my dream.

What do you believe is your strongest trait?

I can be strong and continue on even when things are rough. Andrew and I have been going through a rough patch in our marriage, but I’ve been able, until this point, to continue taking care of my family’s needs as well as work. I’ve also experienced the loss of two family members over the past two years but have been able to continue on. I may not always be able to stand up for myself but I am a survivor. I survived my mother leaving us and I took over the care of my sister and father as soon as I was old enough. I’ve survived my deteriorating marriage so far and have stayed strong for my children. However, I’m not sure how much longer I can continue staying strong before I break.

Worse trait?

I hate that I let people walk all over me sometimes. I don’t like confrontation, and that can make it difficult for me to stand up for myself. Only when I’m pushed into a corner am I able to finally push back.

Do you have a love interest in the book?

Well, the obvious answer to this is my husband. But our marriage isn’t at its best right now. I’m not looking for a new man in my life. I just want my marriage to get back to where it was before the problems began. However, I do meet a man on my journey who would be easy to fall in love with.

At what point of the book did you start getting nervous about the way it was going to turn out?

On my journey across country, Andrew and I talk often and at one point, I feel that we may be able to settle our differences and become a family again. But then once again he disappoints me and I start to worry our marriage may be over for good.

If you could trade places with one of the other characters in the book, which character would you really not want to be and why?

My cousin, Cassie. She seems to have it all figured out. Her marriage is great, and her life is pretty amazing, too. I also wish I had her confidence. She’s an amazing person.

How do you feel about the ending of the book without giving too much away?

I love the ending, but that’s about all I can say. J

Thank you for this interview, Maggie.  Will we be seeing more of you in the future?

Deanna says no, but I remind her to never say never.

 

1 Comment

  1. Thanks for sharing this with your readers. Character interviews are always fun.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

