Beyond the Books

Home » author interviews » Interview with Julian Rosado-Machain, author of YA Fantasy, ‘Guardians Inc.: The Cypher’

Interview with Julian Rosado-Machain, author of YA Fantasy, ‘Guardians Inc.: The Cypher’

Categories

Archives



Julian Rosado-Machain 2Julian Rosado-Machain has enjoyed pizza in three continents, worked in graphic design, armored vehicles, built computers, handcrafted alebrijes and swears that he has seen at least one ghost.

He lives in San Diego, California. And enjoys the sun with his wife, three children and cat.

His latest book is the YA fantasy adventure, Guardians Inc.: The Cypher.

Visit his website at www.guardiansinc.com.

Q: Welcome to Beyond the Books, Julian. Can we start out by telling us whether you are published for the first time or are you multi-published?

I have self-published five books so far, Guardians Inc.: The Cypher is the first of the series, and I have placed it for free in order to spread the word about the series as a whole.

Q: When you were published for the first time, which route did you go – mainstream, small press, vanity published or self-published and why or how did you choose this route?

Guardians Inc 7I self-published with the help of a good friend, Francisco J. Trueba, and we actually skipped searching for a publisher or a literary agent. Guardians Inc. was more like a “pet-project”, but now I think we need to look for an agent or a publishing house in order to take the series to the next level. The Cypher has been downloaded over 150,000 times and while that sounds like a lot, it’s still just free copies!

Q: How did it make you feel to become published for the first time and how did you celebrate?

It was a great accomplishment, but I held on the celebrations until the first review came from someone other than a friend or family… When that came in, I realized that someone was actually reading my stories and then came all fanfares and celebrations!

Q: What was the first thing you did as for as promotion when you were published for the first time?

Book tour! Just a small one with about ten bloggers that I contacted on my own. It did work a little to start the ball rolling, but now I know that word of mouth is the best publicity! Especially when reaching out to those readers through blogs like Beyond the Books.

Q: Since you’ve been published, how have you grown as a writer and now a published author?

English is my second language so I have a lot of room to grow. The first thing that I really learned to do and appreciate was to trust my editor. She has been of invaluable help.

Q: What has surprised or amazed you about the publishing industry as a whole?

I thought that I would get lost in the shuffle, but I’ve come to realize that readers are loyal and like to tell their friends about good stories out there, so my best experience with the industry has to be the response I’ve had with readers.

Q: What is the most rewarding thing about being a published author?

It’s incredibly surprising. To know that I actually have people reading my stories is the most rewarding experience.

Q: Any final words for writers who dream of being published one day?

Keep on writing! I would suggest not to skip the process of finding an agent and a traditional publisher before becoming self-published. It is a step I skipped completely and while I’ve read that many authors prefer it, I would like to try that route now and see what it is about.

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

