Beyond the Books

Home » author interviews » Praying Medic: ‘I had heard a lot of horror stories but my experiences have been incredibly rewarding’

Praying Medic: ‘I had heard a lot of horror stories but my experiences have been incredibly rewarding’

Categories

Archives



Praying Medic 2Praying Medic is a paramedic and author living in Phoenix, Arizona. Since 2009, he has written about the miracles God has done through his medical practice. He is married to his best friend and business partner. His first book Divine Healing Made Simple was published in December of 2013.

His life goal is to teach people to live as ambassadors of God’s kingdom. His books and articles are intended to inspire, challenge and if necessary, provoke readers into a deeper relationship with God.

If you’re interested in connecting with him outside of Amazon, he has a personal blog http://prayingmedic.com/ where he writes about the miraculous. You can contact him there.

Q: Welcome to Beyond the Books, Praying Medic. Can we start out by telling us whether you are published for the first time or are you multi-published?

Divine Healing Made Simple 7This is my first published book.

Q: When you were published for the first time, which route did you go – mainstream, small press, vanity published or self-published and why or how did you choose this route?

I did a lot of research and I was a bit shocked to learn how little support authors receive from traditional publishers, how much editorial control publishers have over content, and how little authors make from royalties. The research I did gave me the confidence I needed to self-publish my first book.

I have a friend who is a graphic designer who used to work for a publishing company and another friend who majored in professional writing in college. She did a lot of tutoring and wanted to get into editing and she agreed to edit my book free of charge to get some experience. I have a personal blog with a good sized audience and huge (and extremely loyal) group of Facebook friends. With that kind of support – there was no reason for me not to self-publish.

Q: How long did it take you to get published once you signed the contract?

I self-published my print book through Amazon’s Create Space and the e-book through Kindle Direct Publishing. My book was available the day after I approved the proofs.

Q: How did it make you feel to become published for the first time and how did you celebrate?

It was freakin’ awesome! My wife and I went out to dinner at a nice restaurant and began scheming about ideas for our next book.

Q: What was the first thing you did as for as promotion when you were published for the first time?

We’ve been very intentional about marketing the book ever since it was published, which helped it earn a best-seller ranking on Amazon. It’s not hard to write a book, but most authors really struggle when it comes to marketing their books. I did a give-away of 10 print copies on Facebook as my first marketing campaign. Since then I’ve taken advantage of Kindle’s Countdown promotions and several other promotional programs.

Q: Since you’ve been published, how have you grown as a writer and now a published author?

My personal blog has seen a dramatic increase in visitors ever since the book was published and I’ve been receiving requests to do public speaking. But more than anything else – I’ve been inspired to write more books than I ever imagined. I currently have six more books manuscripts in various stages of completion with one manuscript that is done except for the final editing.

Q: What has surprised or amazed you about the publishing industry as a whole?

I had heard a lot of horror stories about being an author – but my experiences have been, with few exceptions incredibly rewarding. I’m looking forward to retiring from my job as a paramedic and becoming a full-time author.

Q: What is the most rewarding thing about being a published author?

Most of what I write is aimed at helping people develop their spiritual gifts. I get a lot of positive feedback from readers and friends who have tried my suggestions and found that they worked. When someone is set free of some kind of bondage or illness because of something they read in my book – it’s immensely gratifying to me.

Q: Any final words for writers who dream of being published one day?

My advice to any aspiring author is to start a personal blog. If you’re new to writing, developing a regular habit of writing can be a difficult process. If you’re a veteran writer – the problem is usually marketing what you write. Writing regularly on a personal blog solves both of these problems.

Most people who want to write books never write them because they never develop a regular habit of writing. Blogging can give you the motivation you need to write regularly. Blogging also puts your writing in front of an audience that can give you feedback. All writers need to hone their writing skills. A good way to go through the process of becoming a better writer is to let readers tell you what they like and don’t like about your material. If you respond to criticism by changing (and improving) your writing style, you will become a better writer.

When you post messages on a blog you’re creating an audience of readers who will likely buy your book once it is written. If they like your blog posts – chances are they’ll like your books. You do the writing and let search engines bring interested people to your blog. After you’ve written a certain number of messages, you may find that they can easily be converted to the chapters of your first book. A personal blog can be the marketing tool you need to get your books in the hands of a larger audience.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

