Beyond the Books

Home » author interviews » Interview with Christina Hoffman, author of ‘Invitation’

Interview with Christina Hoffman, author of ‘Invitation’

Categories

Archives



Christina HoffmanChristina Hoffman was born in London, England. She moved with her family throughout Canada and the US, and has finally put down her suitcase, for now, in San Francisco.

She believes that everyone has the right to feel both smart and sexy. We don’t have to be one or the other! She writes stories about characters who live in the real world and who, somehow, still believe in love.

She’s starting a mini-revolution. She writes sexy stories, but hasn’t lost the romance from her Romances. Enough with whips — back to lips!

She hopes you enjoy her stories and see yourself in her characters. After all, they are based on smart and sexy people, just like you.

Christina’s latest book is the contemporary romance, Invitation.

Visit her website at www.christinahoffman.com.

Describe your writing process? Do you outline, do you do detailed biographies of the characters before you write?

I don’t think I’ve been at this long enough to be able to claim I have a process. For this book, the idea of having someone be healed by sexual intimacy came to me before anything else. Then the heroine formed herself out of that. It needed to be someone scarred, but someone who Invitation 7could still take a risk. After that, I started thinking it through, and the type of scenario which would allow her to overcome these demons began to emerge. Liam himself was tough, but one morning he just popped onto the scene with his black hair and his playful grin, and there he was. Ready to go.

Another book has been forming itself in my mind, but this time the protagonist has appeared first. She’s pretty wild, and I know where she’s heading. But all the whys and hows for getting her there aren’t with me yet.

Yes, I do outlines. It helps me see the shape of the story. I certainly change course at times, though.

How much research do you do before starting to write. How do you fact check?

This book concerns two young people working in the medical field. I wanted to be very sure about whatever details I included because I am a reader who gets really disappointed when I read something that just doesn’t make any sense, or something someone threw in there from an episode of ER or something. I have close friends who are medical residents, so I sort of live in that world right now. Plus, I can quiz them on things I’m interested in.

I will always do research, though. Nobody’s perfect, but I would feel lazy if I didn’t do my best to get details right. My next book will likely take place in a very different “world” and I’ll want to find out as much as I can about it before I try to create a story there.

Describe where you do your writing.

Oh, this is humiliating. You know, I procrastinated so long trying to set up this perfect little “office” area for myself — flea market desk, cute shelves, bulletin boards. You get the picture. But when I finally just kicked myself in the butt and got writing, it turned out that the only time there was really any peace was at night with everyone asleep. And it’s freezing where I am, so I write in bed with my little laptop on my knees! It’s giving me wicked backaches, though; so maybe if the book’s a success, I’ll be able to write in the daylight at my desk.

If you had to do the experience of writing your work over, would you still write it? Would you change it? How?

I would definitely still write it. It has brought back so many good memories (I’m not telling which!). The main thing I would change is that I would just have started sooner. I have this terrible perfectionistic inner critic who kept me quiet for a long time. I’m glad I got her off my back. I hope she stays away for a while because I’ve got a lot to do.

How did you choose the story you wrote?

That question has two answers. First, the short one. The story chose me. The theme of sex and love being something that can be, not just a lot of fun, but actually healing and vital to a person’s sense of self and well-being, just appeared.

The long version is that, while I had had this idea that I felt strongly about, I was pretty discouraged by the stories that are out there right now. Simply because they are so different from mine. I feel like the Pollyanna of sexy fiction. My sex scenes just seemed so simple and, I don’t know, “clean”? I knew it was going to be a real challenge to make the sex and intimacy intense and loving, as well as hot AND sweet.

What do you feel is the best personal quality you bring to your writing?

I don’t know yet. For me, the world of writing seems new and, at this point, I’m sort of going against some conventions that say emphasize this, say that, act like this, give them that. I tried to have a bit of a sexy persona going on at first, but I couldn’t pull it off. Even though this is new territory, I think most of my real self has ended up coming out. So, whether that will prove to be a good quality or not is yet to be seen.

1 Comment

  1. Dear Beyond the Books,

    Thank you so much for being a part of this book tour.

    Your page is really beautiful, and I appreciate your having my interview posted here.

    I wish you happy reading,
    xoxo
    Christina

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

