Beyond the Books

Home » Character Interviews » Character Interview: Shiloh Williams from D.W. Raleigh’s Fantasy novel, ‘Shiloh’s True Nature’

Character Interview: Shiloh Williams from D.W. Raleigh’s Fantasy novel, ‘Shiloh’s True Nature’

Categories

Archives



shiloWe’re thrilled to have here today Shiloh Williams from D.W. Raleigh’s new Fantasy novel, Shiloh’s True Nature.  Shiloh is 13 and currently living in Fair Hill.

It is a pleasure to have Shiloh with us today at Beyond the Books!

Thank you so for this interview, Shiloh.  Now that the book has been written, do you feel you were fairly portrayed or would you like to set anything straight with your readers?  

Yes, I believe my portrayal was fairly accurate.  The story takes place over 14 days and is mostly from my point of view.  So, my thoughts and feelings were evident in most circumstances…Although it felt like there was a whole day where I was detached.

Do you feel the author did a good job colorizing your personality?  If not, how would you like to have been portrayed differently?

My personality was definitely explored and sometimes painfully so. I just turned 13, so I’m in that somewhat awkward phase of youth.

What do you believe is your strongest trait?

Well, you’ll have to read the book to find that out, but l will tell you one thing…I’m highly resilient.

Worse trait?

To put it kindly, I’m inquisitive.  To be blunt, I’m a compulsive eavesdropper.  If I want to know, then I need to know.

If you could choose someone in the television or movie industry to play your part if your book was made into a movie, who would that be (and you can’t say yourself!)? 

Given the age requirements to make it believable, it would have to be a complete unknown.  It wouldn’t make sense to have Tom Cruise try to play me…even though he might try.

Do you have a love interest in the book?

Well, sort of…but not exactly…there is someone I kind of like.

At what point of the book did you start getting nervous about the way it was going to turn out?

I became nervous plenty of times, but not because I learned how things would turn out…the end was a complete shock to me.

If you could trade places with one of the other characters in the book, which character would you really not want to be and why?

I wouldn’t want to be Haines.  He resides in the most amazing place, surrounded by incredible people, and he just goes against the grain.  Maybe if I knew more about him, I’d feel differently, but from what I do know, he’s not a nice person.

How do you feel about the ending of the book without giving too much away? 

It’s very hard to answer that question.  It all happened so fast for me.  I’m still in shock.  The other characters seemed elated with the ending though.

What words of wisdom would you give your author if s/he decided to write another book with you in it? 

I truly believe the first story was wonderful.  So, I’d suggest more of the same, only different.

Thank you for this interview, Shiloh.  Will we be seeing more of you in the future?

Absolutely.  The next installment is in the works.

**********************

About the Book

Title: Shiloh’s True Nature

Genre: YA/Fantasy

Author: D.W. Raleigh

Publisher: Hobbes End Publishing

When 12 year-old farm boy Shiloh Williams is sent to stay with his estranged grandfather, he discovers a mysterious new world inhabited by ‘Movers’. The Movers live in symbiotic harmony with one another, except one extremely powerful Mover who has stolen the town’s most precious artifact, the Eternal Flame. Shiloh investigates his supernatural surroundings, makes new friends, and begins to think of the town as home. However, just as soon as he starts to fit in, he realizes his newfound happiness is about to come to an abrupt end. One decision and one extreme consequence are all that remain.

Amazon Paperback Kindle 

Hobbes End Publishing / Author Page / Facebook

 About the Author

Doug Raleigh Pic

D.W. Raleigh was born in the Delaware Valley and has spent most of his life in that region. He has attended multiple colleges and universities collecting several degrees, including an M.A. in Philosophy. After toiling away for many years in various unfulfilling jobs, he began to realize that what he really wanted to do was write. Scribbling down ideas and little short stories he eventually came up with something he wanted to share with the world. Thus, Shiloh’s True Nature was born. D.W. currently resides in Newark, Delaware with his longtime love, Judy, and their two cats, Lovie and Cheepie.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

