Beyond the Books

Home » Uncategorized » Character Interview: Jesus Jackson from James Ryan Daley’s Young Adult Mystery ‘Jesus Jackson’

Character Interview: Jesus Jackson from James Ryan Daley’s Young Adult Mystery ‘Jesus Jackson’

Categories

Archives



jesusWe’re thrilled to have here today Jesus Jackson from James Ryan Daley’s new Young Adult Mystery, Jesus Jackson.  Jesus Jackson is a 33 ¾ year-old Spiritual Contractor who can usually be found lingering around empty high school football fields.

It is a pleasure to have him with us today at Beyond the Books!

Thank you so for this interview, Jesus Jackson.  Now that the book has been written, do you feel you were fairly portrayed or would you like to set anything straight with your readers?

Well, first of all, thank you for having me. Normally, I like to stay out of the spotlight, but given the momentousness of the occasion, I’m happy to have the opportunity to speak directly to the public. That said, I think Mr. Daley did an okay job with the portrayal of my character. He opted to tell the story from the point-of-view of a not-entirely-satisfied client of mine (a young would-be atheist named Jonathan Stiles), so the portrayal was not exactly glowing. I mean, it could have been a lot worse, but I don’t think the book will be sending many new clients my way.

Do you feel the author did a good job colorizing your personality?  If not, how would you like to have been portrayed differently?

The author certainly made my personality quite colorful (and he was spot on with my wardrobe, from the color of my jogging outfits, to the texture of my leisure suits), which I do appreciate. However,  I think he did me a real disservice by questioning the sincerity of my offer to whip up some new faith for young Jonathan. I mean, sure, claiming that you can give someone 100% faith in nothingness may sound like a load of baloney, but that’s why I offer the money-back guarantee!

What do you believe is your strongest trait?

You know, I’m a people person. When I wake up in the morning, the first thing I do is think about all of the people I can help that day. Well, actually the first thing I do is a twenty-seven minute Ab-Buster Pilates routine, but right after that: I think about the people.

Worse trait?

Sometimes I just care too much.

If you could choose someone in the television or movie industry to play your part if your book was made into a movie, who would that be (and you can’t say yourself!)?

I can’t play myself? Are you sure? I have a SAG card, you know. Okay, fine: If I have to choose, I’m going to go with Russel Brand. He’s got the hair and the beard, and he looks great in sunglasses.

Do you have a love interest in the book?

Alas, no. My occupation leaves me little time for romance. But if I were to be so bold as to make a suggestion for the author (should he decide to write one in for me someday), I would have to say Emma Stone. She was so good in The Help.

At what point of the book did you start getting nervous about the way it was going to turn out?

Nervous? Me? No way. Not even for a second. I knew how the whole thing was going to turn out all along. Sure, there were some unexpected twists and turns, and a few points where I had to push Jonathan to get him where he needed to be (sorry about that whole thing on the bleachers, by the way), but in the end, it all went exactly according to plan. Honestly….

If you could trade places with one of the other characters in the book, which character would you really not want to be and why?

I would not want to be Mr. Finger, the school psychologist. His office is way too small, and his clothes are atrocious.

How do you feel about the ending of the book without giving too much away?

I was really pleased with the way that everything worked out. In my line of work there’s just no way of knowing what a client will do once you set them off on their own, but I’ve got high hopes for Jonathan. I think the kid will be alright. Also, I made twelve bucks on the whole deal. So you know: I’ve got that going for me.

What words of wisdom would you give your author if he decided to write another book with you in it?

I have exactly five words of wisdom for James Ryan Daley: America’s Next Top Spiritual Contractor.

Thank you for this interview, Jesus Jackson.  Will we be seeing more of you in the future?

I can’t say for sure, but you if you ever need my services, I’d be happy to provide you with a free estimate. I’ll just leave my card right here….

 ABOUT THE AUTHOR

JRD1James Ryan Daley is a writer, editor, and digital designer. After earning an MFA in fiction at the Vermont College of Fine Arts in 2004, James has spent most of the years since teaching writing to college students, creating websites about video games, and editing anthologies of fiction and political rhetoric. When he’s not glued to his computer, James can usually be found skiing the slopes of Vermont’s famous mountains or sailing the harbors of Rhode Island. He lives in Newport, RI with his wife and two daughters.

Book info:

Title:  Jesus Jackson
Genre:  Young Adult Mystery
Author: James Ryan Daley
Website: www.jamesryandaley.com
Publisher:  The Poisoned Pencil
The Poisoned Pen / Amazon / Barnes & Noble

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

