Beyond the Books

Home » Uncategorized » Character Interview: Nicholas Blackwell from Jonathan L. Ferrara Young Adult/Fantasy The Blackwell Family Secret: The Guardians of Sin

Character Interview: Nicholas Blackwell from Jonathan L. Ferrara Young Adult/Fantasy The Blackwell Family Secret: The Guardians of Sin

Categories

Archives



7654

We’re thrilled to have here today Nicholas Blackwell from Jonathan L. Ferrara’s new Young Adult/Fantasy, The Blackwell Family Secret: The Guardians of Sin.  Nicholas Blackwell is a sixteen-year-old student living in Epping Forest, England.

It is a pleasure to have him with us today at Beyond the Books! 

blackwellThank you so for this interview, Nicholas Blackwell. Now that the book has been written, do you feel you were fairly portrayed or would you like to set anything straight with your readers?

Honestly, I was being a little cocky in the beginning. I want to make it clear that it wasn’t exactly my fault. Look, I’m stuck at St. Christopher’s Academy all year round. I have no family to go to. I have to have some fun and make the best out of a bad situation. Right? Maybe I shouldn’t have thrown the party in the woods, but I got punished for it. I shouldn’t be judged by that.

Do you feel the author did a good job colorizing your personality?  If not, how would you like to have been portrayed differently?

Jonathan L. Ferrara really showed every part of me, the good and the bad. Sure, I would have liked him not to have shown my arrogant side, but he did show the readers how courageous and selfless I could be. Jonathan L. Ferrara did a great job showing everyone how cool I looked when I started to take down each of the Seven Deadly Sins. But did he really have to show the readers my teddy bear?! My parents gave him to me and it’s the only thing I have left of them. But geez, he didn’t have to tell the whole world that I had Dexter hidden beneath my pillow. That was downright embarrassing!

What do you believe is your strongest trait?

I would have to say my sly charm and cleverness. With my dimples I can charm my way out of just about anything.

Worse trait?

My pride! You’ll learn all about that soon enough I’m sure. That, and the other of the Seven Deadly Sins. Pride might be my worst trait, but I can’t help it. I would also have to say my asthma. I have to hide it just so I don’t look too weak in front of this girl I like.

blackwell2

If you could choose someone in the television or movie industry to play your part if your book was made into a movie, who would that be (and you can’t say yourself!)?

You know me already. That’s exactly who I would have picked! Hmm, let me think about this one for a quick second. He would need to be the perfect actor. I mean, not just anyone could do it. I think I’ll settle with Logan Lerman.

Do you have a love interest in the book?

I do and she’s gorgeous! I can’t seem to figure her out though. I mean she’s hiding something from me and I just can’t figure it out. She’s not like any girl I’ve ever dated before. The dimples aren’t working on her.

At what point of the book did you start getting nervous about the way it was going to turn out?

My family’s secret flew me through a loop. My parents died trying to keep this secret from me, and I always wondered why they would’t have told me all those years ago. Now I know. Every family has their secrets, but mine I had to discover in the City of Demons. It’s a secret for a reason.

If you could trade places with one of the other characters in the book, which character would you really not want to be and why?

The archangel Gabriel. He’s a good guy, with lots of power, but he stays at my school as the janitor. I love him, but he’s flawless. I need a little more excitement in my life.

How do you feel about the ending of the book without giving too much away?

That’s a hard one to answer. I’m still struggling with it. I discovered my family’s secret, but I wish I hadn’t. It humbled me a bit, but it truly has the power to not just change my own life, but if it got out, it could potentially change the whole world. We’re all living a lie!

What words of wisdom would you give your author if he decided to write another book with you in it?

No more playing around. I discovered my family’s dark secret and so I know now what I have to do. It’s time we start this war.

Thank you for this interview, Nicholas Blackwell.  Will we be seeing more of you in the future?

I’m not going anywhere. A family like mine is bound to have more secrets and I’m going to discover them all.

///////////////////////////////////////////////

unnamed copy

Jonathan L. Ferrara was born in San Pedro, California to an Italian fisherman and a mother from New York. Growing up with one older brother, Jonathan had several hobbies: finding the best hiding spots to jump out and scare his mother, discovering new fantasy book series, and imagining outrageous, whimsical worlds full of magic. He is now happily married, residing in California in the City of Angels. He has two wonderful children—his dog Koda and cat Merlin. He’s currently touring the blogosphere to promote the release of his YA urban fantasy novel, The Blackwell Family Secret: The Guardians of Sin, just published by Dragonwell. Find out more about his work on http://jonathanlferrara.com. Check out his book on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

