Beyond the Books

Home » Uncategorized » Interview with ‘You’re Not From Around Here, Are You?’ Helga Stipa Madland

Interview with ‘You’re Not From Around Here, Are You?’ Helga Stipa Madland

Categories

Archives



Helga MadlandHelga Stipa Madland was born in Upper Silesia and emigrated to the United States with her family in 1954. She has three children and six grandchildren. She is Professor Emerita at the University of Oklahoma and is the author of academic and other books. Her husband, Richard Beck, teaches Ancient Greek at OU in Norman, OK, where they live with a dachshund and four cats.

Her latest book is the memoir, You’re Not From Around Here, Are You?: Reminiscences.

For More Information

About the Book:

You're Not From Around Here Are You 2Title: You’re Not From Around Here, Are You? Reminiscences
Author: Helga Stipa Madland
Publisher: Aventine Press
Pages: 202
Genre: Memoir
Format: Paperback/Kindle

I start with when I was born, then there was a World War, and then I went to Norman.—Klodnitz, in Upper Silesia, now a part of Poland, was my birth place; when everything collapsed in 1945 at the end of WWII, my family and I became refugees. We trekked across Germany, to the west, and eventually settled in a small village and then another one. Next was Canada, then the United States, Missouri; eventually we settled in Idaho, where my Father, who was a forester, found a job. I did not stop there! I was married and continued my merry journey, California, back to three different cities in Idaho, and later Seattle, where I earned a PhD. My children were grown by then, I was alone and ready to find a position. That’s when I ended up at the University of Oklahoma in 1981, and have been here ever since.

For More Information

  • You’re Not From Around Here, Are You? Reminiscences is available at Amazon.
  • Pick up your copy at Barnes & Noble.
  • Discuss this book at PUYB Virtual Book Club at Goodreads.

Q: Welcome to Beyond the Books, Helga. Can we start out by telling us whether you are published for the first time or are you multi-published?

I published three academic books when I was a professor at the University of Oklahoma. Since I retired in 2005, I have published four more books—two are fiction, two non-fiction.

Q: When you were published for the first time, which route did you go – mainstream, small press, vanity published or self-published and why or how did you choose this route?

Since 2005, I have self-published with Aventine Press; I did not want to wait for agents and publishers.

Q: How long did it take you to get published once you signed the contract?

Self-published; immediately.

Q: How did it make you feel to become published for the first time and how did you celebrate?

Satisfied; I celebrated by writing another book.

Q: What was the first thing you did as for as promotion when you were published for the first time?

Contacting groups I thought would be interested; it did not work.

Q: Since you’ve been published, how have you grown as a writer and now a published author?

Since my retirement, I say clearly and loudly, I am a writer.

Q: What has surprised or amazed you about the publishing industry as a whole?

How many people are writing books! It is incredible. And a lot of them do not proof-read their work.

Q: What is the most rewarding thing about being a published author?

I framed images of my book covers and now have more wall hangings.

Q: Any final words for writers who dream of being published one day?

I could say something coy, like “Keep writing until you are done.” But I should say, are you sure you want to be a writer? Then do it and try publishing and go from there.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

