Beyond the Books

Home » Historical Fiction » Character Interview: Ximena Godoy from Graciela Limón’s Novel ‘The Intriguing Life of Ximena Godoy’

Character Interview: Ximena Godoy from Graciela Limón’s Novel ‘The Intriguing Life of Ximena Godoy’

Categories

Archives



ximenaWe’re thrilled to have here today Ximena Godoy, from Graciela Limón’s new novel The Intriguing Life of Ximena Godoy

It is a pleasure to have her with us today at Beyond the Books!

Thank you so for this interview, Ximena Godoy.  Now that the book has been written, do you feel you were fairly portrayed or would you like to set anything straight with your readers? 

“Well, I do believe that Graciela Limón portrayed me fairly most of the time, but sometimes she was unable to dig deep enough into the inner recesses of what I really am.  Based on what s/he reads, I think that the reader could accuse me of making poor choices, maybe even selfish ones. Yes, I made stupid choices, but I think that it was because there was a mysterious force that drove me from a very young age.  Could it have been a demon?  Maybe.  I think this is what baffled even the author.  What I really yearned for was freedom and space to breathe.  Do you know what I mean?”

Do you feel the author did a good job colorizing your personality?  If not, how would you like to have been portrayed differently?

“I’m not sure I understand what you mean by ‘colorizing my personality’ but I will say that I do believe that for the greater part Graciela Limón captured what I was like.  She was successful in portraying my personality with its many changes and moods, its unpredictability, and always doing what she, the author, would never do in her own life.”

What do you believe is your strongest trait?

“I’m determined and focused.”

Worse trait?

“I’m quick to take offense, but slow to forgive.”

If you could choose someone in the television or movie industry to play your part if your book was made into a movie, who would that be?

“Salma Hayek would be my first choice.”

Do you have a love interest in the book? 

“I have several love interests in the book.  Perhaps you would say that this is one of my weakest points:  I love too quickly and too intensely.  But oddly enough, when the fire of passion burns out in me, it’s finished.  I’m able to walk away from that passion and get on with my life.  That is, except for the last love.  I don’t want to say more because I’ll spoil the novel for you.”

At what point of the book did you start getting nervous about the way it was going to turn out? 

“Because I didn’t know my own end, I never was nervous.”

If you could trade places with one of the other characters in the book, which character would you really not want to be and why?

“I would not want to be Concha Urrutia because she, above all else, feels the full brunt of my rancor in the novel.  Also, Concha is one of those women who loves once in her lifetime; she hangs on to that love no matter what.  This depresses me.”

How do you feel about the ending of the book without giving too much away?

“I’m afraid that it would indeed give away the entire ending if I answer this question.  Can we please move on to the next one?”

What words of wisdom would you give your author if s/he decided to write another book with you in it?

“I know that Graciela Limón will not be writing another novel with me in it so there are no words of wisdom for her on this score.  She will indeed write other novels, but not with me in any of them.”

Thank you for this interview, Ximena Godoy.  Will we be seeing more of you in the future? 

“Unfortunately, you will not be seeing more of me in the future.  When you read the novel you will understand my meaning.”

////////////////////////////////////////

Graciela LimónGraciela Limón is a Latina Writer, Educator and Activist. She received a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Spanish Literature from Marymount College Los Angeles, a Master of Arts Degree in the same field from the University of the Americas Mexico City, followed by a PhD in Latin American Literature from the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA).  Prior to retirement, Limón was a professor of U.S. Hispanic Literature as well as Chair of the Department of Chicana/o Studies at Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, California.  She is now Professor Emeritus of that University.

Limón has written critical work on Mexican, Latin American and Caribbean Literature.  However, she now concentrates her writing efforts on creative fiction that is germane to her areas of interest: feminism, social justice and cultural identity.  Her body of work includes In Search of Bernabé that won The Before Columbus Foundation American Book Award (1994).   Limón also published The Memories of Ana Calderón (1994), Song of the Hummingbird (1996) andThe Day of the Moon (1999).   Erased Faces, which was awarded the 2002 Gustavus Myers Book Award, was published in 2001, Left Alive was released in 2005, The River Flows North, 2009, followed by The Madness of Mamá Carlota, 2012.  Her latest book is The Intriguing Life of Ximena Godoy, published by Cafe con Leche Books. Find out more about Graciela at www.gracielalimon.com.

///////////////////////////////////////

TitleThe Intriguing Life of Ximena Godoy

Genre:  Historical Fiction

Author:  Graciela Limón

Website www.gracielalimon.com

Publisher:  Café Con Leche

Purchase on Amazon 

The Intriguing Life of Ximena Godoyfollows the story of a woman from very early life to maturity.  Her tale takes place in the early to mid-twentieth century unfolding first in her native Mexico, and ending in Los Angeles, California.  It is a story of love and revenge told against the historical events of Revolution, Repatriation, War and Peace.  When Ximena Godoy falls into the abyss of crime, she faces the punishment demanded of that crime.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

