Beyond the Books

Home » Uncategorized » Character Interview: Tom Evanger from Joel Fox’s paranormal suspense, “The Mark on Eve.”

Character Interview: Tom Evanger from Joel Fox’s paranormal suspense, “The Mark on Eve.”

Categories

Archives



character interviewWe’re thrilled to have here today Tom Evanger from Joel Fox’s new paranormal suspense, The Mark on Eve.  Tom Evanger is a 34-year-old newspaper reporter living in Los Angeles, California.

It is a pleasure to have him with us today at Beyond the Books!

Cover (3)Thank you so much for this interview, Tom.  Now that the book has been written, do you feel you were fairly portrayed or would you like to set anything straight with your readers?

The readers should know I’m a damn good reporter and that’s how I should be judged. My sex should have nothing to do with the assignments I get. I think I’m as fair and just in my dealings with all people no matter their gender. I don’t like to leave any doubts — I am not prejudiced against female reporters. I just think I can do the job and don’t like to be denied because of the way I was born. Sorry if that attitude offends anybody.

Do you feel the author did a good job colorizing your personality?  If not, how would you like to have been portrayed differently?

Not everyone’s as good a writer as me so I’ll give the author a pass. He did all right. Maybe he made me look a little sneaky, I’m not really that way, I was just doing my job. I could have gotten the information and the interviews without all the stealth. But, that’s not the way he colored me.

What do you believe is your strongest trait?

I’m aggressive.

Worse trait?

I’m aggressive. I tend to offend when I push for the truth but sometimes that’s the only way I’ll get it.

If you could choose someone in the television or movie industry to play your part if your book was made into a movie, who would that be (and you can’t say yourself!)?

Brad Pitt. Right. Tough but good looking; good with the ladies, but faithful, too. I like that. At least, I try to be faithful.

Do you have a love interest in the book?

Yes, at least I thought so, but we started drifting apart. As to, Eve, very intriguing lady, but not love.

At what point of the book did you start getting nervous about the way it was going to turn out?

When they took the plum assignment from me. I was covering a presidential campaign and they kicked me off. Needed a woman to do the job. I’d never live up to my father’s superstar reputation if they wouldn’t let me do important reporting. Little did I know where the new assignment would lead me and how big a story that could be.

If you could trade places with one of the other characters in the book, which character would you really not want to be and why?

I would not want to be Governor Judith Rhodes. I don’t need to run for president. I don’t need the attention a politician requires. What I need is to take them apart. That’s what I’m built for. I wouldn’t want to be on the receiving end of investigative reporters like me.

How do you feel about the ending of the book without giving too much away?

The real ending, the last sentence makes a statement about me. I’m good with that. But there were some delicious reporting opportunities that ended in disappointment for me personally.

What words of wisdom would you give your author if s/he decided to write another book with you in it?

Make me the star. Give me an opportunity to show what I can do and let me do it.

Thank you for this interview, Tom.  Will we be seeing more of you in the future?

It’s up to the big guy, although I hate having to listen to another editor tell me what to do.  I’m told this book is a stand alone, whatever that means. But I’m available.

 /////////////////////////////////////

Title: The Mark on Eve

Genre: Suspense

Author: Joel Fox

Website: http://www.joelfox.com/

Publisher: Bronze Circle Books

Purchase on Amazon  

//////////////////////////////////

Joel FoxJoel Fox has spent over 30 years in California politics, serving on numerous state commissions, working on many ballot issue campaigns, and advising candidates. An adjunct professor at the School of Public Policy, Pepperdine University, Fox has authored hundreds of opinion pieces for numerous publications including the Wall Street Journal,Washington Post, USA Todayand Los Angeles Times. Joel Fox is also the author of the Zane Rigby mystery series—Lincoln’s Hand and FDR’s Treasure— in which an FBI Special Agent must solve a puzzle from the past of an American president to solve modern day murders.  A native of the Boston area, Joel Fox lives in Los Angeles.

Website / Facebook

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

