Beyond the Books

Home » Crime » Character Interview: Commander Truchaud from R.M. Cartmel’s mystery, The Charlemagne Connection

Character Interview: Commander Truchaud from R.M. Cartmel’s mystery, The Charlemagne Connection

Categories

Archives



character interviewWe’re thrilled to have here today Commander Truchaud from Dick Cartmel’s new mystery, The Charlemagne Connection. Commander Truchaud is a 45 year old police detective from Nuits-Saint-Georges, currently on leave there from his post in the National Police in Paris, the capital of France. It is a pleasure to have him with us today at Beyond the Books!

Connect with the author on the web:

Facebook / Twitter / Blog / Amazon

RMCARTMEL_GARDENBB: Thank you so for this interview, Commander. Now that the book has been written, do you feel you were fairly portrayed or would you like to set anything straight with your readers? 

CT: I think so yes. Certainly the narrative is an accurate description of what actually happened, and he has described the feel of the middle of high summer on the Côte.

BB: What do you believe is your strongest trait? 

CT: I am a very thoughtful policeman. I wouldn’t have reached the rank of Commander if I wasn’t. That’s similar to being a Captain over here.

BB: Worst trait? 

CT: People tell me I’m not really a people person. I don’t really know what they mean by that.

BB: If you could choose someone in the television or movie industry to play your part if your book was made into a movie, who would that be (and you can’t say yourself!)? 

CT: Of course I would say someone like George Clooney, but if you were then to ask me why, I wouldn’t have the faintest idea! If you want someone like me to play me who wasn’t me, I might say someone like Thierry Godard from the French Series Engrenages. But then I’m not really like Gilou at all. Maybe it should be someone like Clark Gregg who plays Agent Coulson in Agents of Shield or Ben Miller in Death in Paradise, are probably more like me, yes I think Ben Miller in that role.

BB: Do you have a love interest in the book? 

CT: Er, Yes I suppose I do. You’re not doing to discuss this with my superiors are you? I think my thoughts about one of the junior officers in the book are singularly inappropriate for a Commander.

BB: At what point of the book did you start getting nervous about the way it was going to turn out? 

CT: When the author described me looking at that officer’s knees. I was afraid he was going to go off at a tangent into some fantasy world of his own. We were at a potential crime scene, for heaven’s sake, and there was this author apparently concentrating on a police officer’s legs. I thought we ere going to have a fairly major row at that point.

Charlemagne_cover_webBB: If you could trade places with one of the other characters in the book, which character would you really not want to be and why? 

CT: Well fairly obviously the victim. Why? Because the victim won’t ever get to taste the wine that is being made during the course of the book, some of which I can assure you is exquisite.

BB: How do you feel about the ending of the book without giving too much away? 

CT: If I gave anything away, I have a sneaking feeling the author would be most upset, but what do I feel about it? Wistful, I suppose, would best describe it, but then we’re not talking about the solution of the book, we’re talking about the ending. What’s the difference? You’re going to have to read it and see.

BB: What words of wisdom would you give your author if he decided to write another book with you in it? 

CT: Interesting way of putting it. I sincerely hope he does so, this is the second book of a trilogy, and it can’t be a trilogy unless there are three of them! The first book, {The Richebourg Affair} is set in the spring. This one is set in the high summer, and the third one that he tells me he is writing now is set during the vintage, where they harvest the grapes and make the wine. So what words of advice would I give him? Do the research and get it right.

BB: Thank you for this interview, Commander Truchaud. Will we be seeing more of you in the future? 

CT: If you invite me, I will try my very best to get here, it’s been great fun.

1 Comment

  1. thedarkphantom says:

    Reblogged this on As The Pages Turn.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

