Beyond the Books

Home » Character Interviews » Character Interview: Dee from Donna McDine’s children’s book, Dee and Deb Off They Go Kindergarten First Day Jitters

Character Interview: Dee from Donna McDine’s children’s book, Dee and Deb Off They Go Kindergarten First Day Jitters

Categories

Archives



character interviews logo

We’re thrilled to have here today Dee from Donna McDine’s new children’s book, Dee and Deb Off They Go Kindergarten First Day Jitters.  Dee is 6 years old and is a fraternal twin sister and student living in Tappan, New York.

It is a pleasure to have her with us today at Beyond the Books!

Thank you so for this interview, Dee.  Now that the book has been written, do you feel you were fairly portrayed or would you like to set anything straight with your readers?

My creator, Donna McDine, did a terrific job and I’m very proud to be part of this story.

deeDo you feel the author did a good job colorizing your personality?  If not, how would you like to have been portrayed differently?

Since the author Donna McDine and I are one in the same, she definitely stayed true to “our” personality.

What do you believe is your strongest trait?

My loyalty to my fraternal twin sister and that she is one of the most important people in my life.

Worse trait?

I can be waaaay too talkative. It has created problems for me in school and I need to learn to be quiet at the most difficult times.

If you could choose someone in the television or movie industry to play your part if your book was made into a movie, who would that be (and you can’t say yourself!)?

This is easy… that would be… Brooklyn Rae Silzer who plays Emma Grace Scorpio-Drake on General Hospital. Shhh, please don’t tell my mom I sneak to watch General Hospital.

Do you have a love interest in the book?

Yikes, gross… I’m only 6!

At what point of the book did you start getting nervous about the way it was going to turn out?

When my fraternal twin sister, Deb and I had to go to two different classrooms.

If you could trade places with one of the other characters in the book, which character would you really not want to be and why?

That would be Casey, the girl I made friends with in class. At least I knew my sister was right across the hall, she didn’t have anyone.

How do you feel about the ending of the book without giving too much away?

Love how it shows my excitement to come back to school the next day.

What words of wisdom would you give your author if s/he decided to write another book with you in it?

Make the story longer. I so love reading about myself.

Thank you for this interview, Dee.  Will we be seeing more of you in the future?

Thanks for having me! I don’t know, that all depends my creator my alter ego, Donna McDine.

///////////////////////////////////

Title: Dee and Deb Off They Go Kindergarten First Day Jitters

Genre: children’s

Author: Donna McDine

Website: www.donnamcdine.com

Publisher: Guardian Angel Publishing, Inc.

Purchase link: www.donnamcdine.com and Guardian Angel Publishing / Amazon  

About the Book: The anxiety of finding one’s own place and friends in kindergarten without the comfort of having her fraternal twin sister nearby at first overwhelms Dee until she realizes even without her fraternal twin sister, Dee and her classmates for the most part are in the same boat.

donna

About the Author: Multi award-winning children’s author, Donna McDine’s creative side laid dormant for many years until her desire to write sparked in 2007. Her latest release Dee and Deb Off They Go Kindergarten First Day Jitters joins the four early reader children’s picture books, A Sandy Grave(January 2014), Powder Monkey (May 2013), Hockey Agony (January 2013) and The Golden Pathway (August 2010) all with Guardian Angel Publishing. Join McDine as her adventures continue as she ignites the curiosity of children through reading. She writes and moms from her home in the historical hamlet Tappan, NY. McDine is a member of the SCBWI.

Connect with Donna on the Web!

www.donnamcdine.com

www.donna-mcdine.blogspot.com

https://www.facebook.com/DonnaMcDineAuthor

https://twitter.com/dmcdine

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

