Beyond the Books

Home » Horror » Character Interview: Jimmy Wade from Russell James’ horror/thriller ‘Q Island’

Character Interview: Jimmy Wade from Russell James’ horror/thriller ‘Q Island’

Categories

Archives



We’re thrilled to have here today Jimmy Wade from Russell James’ new thriller, Q Island. Jimmy is a 24 year old career criminal living on Long Island, New York.

Hey, that’s a little, well, pejorative, I think’s the word. I’ve had jobs. They just don’t work out long term.

It is a pleasure to have him with us today at Beyond the Books!

Thank you so for this interview, Jimmy. Now that the book has been written, do you feel you were fairly portrayed or would you like to set anything straight with your readers? 

Where do I start? Somehow at the end of this, I end up being the bad guy. The people who weren’t trapped on Q Island don’t know what it was like.

 When the Paleovirus broke out, it turned people into crazed killers. The government quarantined the island, locked millions of people in.

 People needed to survive. I needed to survive. If they were there, in my situation, they would have done all the same things. Maybe even worse.

Do you feel the author did a good job colorizing your personality?  If not, how would you like to have been portrayed differently?

Look, people got infected. I got infected. But I didn’t go bonkers, I improved. I was able to touch people’s minds, direct them to act certain ways. I used it to get control of Mozelle’s syndicate. I mean, they guy wanted to kill me. Who wouldn’t do that? How did that come across in the book as such a bad thing? 

I was the next stage of human evolution, like homo sapiens 2.0. Shouldn’t I do everything I can to keep my evolution progressing, to keep myself alive, to rule the people on Q Island? Sure, but this book twists all that around to make it look criminal.

What do you believe is your strongest trait?

I’m adaptable. If one plan goes wrong, I can switch to another right then.

Worst trait?

I was probably too tolerant of my goons who screwed up. I should have killed more of them earlier.

If you could choose someone in the television or movie industry to play your part if your book was made into a movie, who would that be (and you can’t say yourself!)?

I see it as a Bradley Cooper, Channing Tatum kind of role. But Hollywood would just cast the usual bad guy in it, given the way this book is written.

Do you have a love interest in the book?

Nah. I got more important things to do.

At what point of the book did you start getting nervous about the way it was going to turn out?

There’s a scene where I let one of my men turn after he gets infected. I’ve got a plan for how he can help me. It’s a little gruesome, sure, and I don’t want to go all spoiler about it, but it was a real beautiful, transcendent moment. The book just makes it sound disgusting.

If you could trade places with one of the other characters in the book, which character would you really not want to be and why?

Melanie Freaking Bailey. All she had to do was hand her son Aiden over to me. Simple. I would have let her and her friends go about their lives. But no, she has to fight me, fight the infected, fight the government every step of the way. No common sense. No vision of my destiny at all. I’d hate to go through life that blind and ignorant.

How do you feel about the ending of the book without giving too much away?

All I’ll say is, it could have been better.

What words of wisdom would you give your author if s/he decided to write another book with you in it?

You know, now that you mention it, I could get a love interest. It would let me show the tender side that this book never dives into. Yeah, I could do that.

Thank you for this interview, Jimmy. Will we be seeing more of you in the future?

If you do, next time I hope it’s from a writer who knows what he’s doing.

////////////////////////////////////////////////

Title:  Q ISLAND

Genre: HORROR

Author: RUSSELL JAMES

Website: www.russellrjames.com

Publisher: SAMHAIN PUBLISHING

Purchase on Amazon

About the Book

Epidemic! An ancient virus surfaces on Long Island, New York turning its victims into black-veined, infectious, psychopathic killers. Chaos and madness rule.  In desperation, the military quarantines the island, trapping Melanie Bailey and her autistic son, Aiden. Somehow, Aiden survives the infection. He could be the key to a cure—if Melanie can somehow get him to the mainland.

A taut, tense, terrifying thriller that teems with intensity, Q Island is an eerily realistic tale. With a chilling plot, compelling characters, and a pulse-quickening storyline, Q Island will leave readers breathless.  Earning nods as one of this year’s best horror novels, Q Island is an extraordinary story exceptionally well-told.

About the Author

After a tour flying helicopters with the U.S. Army, Russell James now spins twisted tales best read during daylight. In addition to two horror short story collections, Tales from Beyond and Deeper into Darkness, James is the author of seven paranormal thrillers:  Dark Inspiration, Sacrifice, Black Magic, Dark Vengeance, Dreamwalker and Q Island. His next novel, The Portal, is slated for release in 2016. Visit him at www.russellrjames.com.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

