Beyond the Books

Home » Character Interviews » Character Interview: Patricia Murphy from Dawn Brotherton’s new youth fiction, Trish’s Team

Character Interview: Patricia Murphy from Dawn Brotherton’s new youth fiction, Trish’s Team

Categories

Archives



We’re thrilled to have here today Patricia Murphy from Dawn Brotherton’s new youth fiction, Trish’s Team.  Patricia is a 12-year old student and softball player for the Lady Tigers.

It is a pleasure to have her with us today at Beyond the Books!

TrishCover800-1120Thank you so for this interview, Patricia.  Now that the book has been written, do you feel you were fairly portrayed or would you like to set anything straight with your readers?

Please don’t call me Patricia, only my mother calls me that. Everyone else just calls me Trish.

Sorry, Trish.

I think Mrs. Brotherton (my mother wouldn’t approve of calling her by her first name) was fair, although it’s hard to see my faults printed out in black and white like that. I didn’t mean to lie. It’s a slippery slope, you know. One thing led to another…

Do you feel the author did a good job colorizing your personality?  If not, how would you like to have been portrayed differently?

I’m okay with my description—minus the faults I’ve already mentioned. I wish my mom was a little less…snobbish, maybe? I love my mom and she means well, she just doesn’t always know how to show it.

What do you believe is your strongest trait?

Friendship!  Easily.

Worst trait?

Duh, we’ve already mentioned it. I shouldn’t have tried to pull a fast one on my parents.

If you could choose someone in the television or movie industry to play your part if your book was made into a movie, who would that be (and you can’t say yourself!)?

Rowan Blanchard.  I love her in Girl Meets World.

Do you have a love interest in the book?

Ew! No way!

At what point of the book did you start getting nervous about the way it was going to turn out?

When my mom showed up at the softball field.

If you could trade places with one of the other characters in the book, which character would you really not want to be and why?

I really didn’t want to be me when things starting unraveling. If I can’t say that, I’d have to say my mom. She just doesn’t get sports. How can anyone not like softball?? 

How do you feel about the ending of the book without giving too much away? 

Relieved! I learned my lesson!

What words of wisdom would you give your author if she decided to write another book with you in it?

I hear she has already started the next one and I’m happy to say I’m in it again with all my softball friends. We get to do some really fun things that help other kids. I’m looking forward to it.

Thank you for this interview, Trish.  Will we be seeing more of you in the future?

Many more times, I hope!

Title:  TRISH’S TEAM

Genre:  Tween Fiction (Middle Grade Fiction)

Author:  Dawn Brotherton

Website: www.blue-dragon-publishing.com

Publisher:  Blue Dragon Publishing

Purchase on Amazon

The debut release in Dawn Brotherton’s Lady Tigers series, Trish’s Team is a terrific new young adult tale featuring Trish Murphy.  A member of the Blue Birds, a recreational fastpitch softball team for 11 and 12 year old girls, Trish Murphy longs to be a member of the Lady Tigers, the elite travel team comprised of the best of the best players in the area.  When she is presented with the opportunity to try out for the team, Trish jumps at the chance. There’s just one small problem—it seems Trish’s parents don’t understand her love of the game.  Chances are they’ll be even less understanding and when they find out that team practice conflicts with Trish’s orchestra practice…

But being part of the Lady Tigers—and nurturing newfound friendships with the other team members—is Trish’s top priority.  When she tries to pull a fast one to get what she wants without considering the consequences, Trish puts everything in jeopardy. Trish’s decision could ultimately affect more than just the game: it could affect her friends.  Along the way, Trish discovers that being a part of the Lady Tigers is about much more than playing fastpitch softball:  it’s about being a part of a team.  But Trish may have to learn a painful lesson. After all, it really isn’t if you win or lose, but it’s how you play the game.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About the Author

The recipient of the Global eBook Bronze Award, Dawn Brotherton is the creator of Softball Scoresheet, a book used for keeping score during games. She is also the author of two Jackie Austin mysteries, Wind the Clock and It’s the Right Thing to Do, and a contributing author to A-10s Over Kosovo, a compilation of stories about being deployed for Operation ALLIED FORCE.  Dawn currently serves at the Pentagon in Washington, DC. as a colonel in the United States Air Force. She enjoys coaching softball, working with the Girl Scouts, and traveling.  Dawn and her fighter-pilot-retired husband live in Virginia with their two beautiful daughters.

Links to your site/blog/FB and Twitter:  www.blue-dragon-publishing.com

 http://www.blue-dragon-publishing.com/authors/dawn-brotherton/

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Blue-Dragon-Publishing/519701838103590

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

