Beyond the Books

Home » Character Interviews » Character Interview: Jessie Murphy from jd daniels` mystery Quick Walk to Murder

Character Interview: Jessie Murphy from jd daniels` mystery Quick Walk to Murder

Categories

Archives



We’re thrilled to have here today Jessie Murphy from jd daniels new mystery, Quick Walk to Murder.  Jessie is 28 and a property manager/artist living in Matlacha, FL & Cambridge, MA.

It is a pleasure to have her with us today at Beyond the Books!

QW_lg.jpgThank you so for this interview, Jessie.  Now that the book has been written, do you feel you were fairly portrayed or would you like to set anything straight with your readers?

Oh, sure, jd did a great job portraying me, but I would like the readers to make sure to understand that just because I love a plaster of Paris Gargoyle, that doesn’t mean I’m not logical and smart.  I’m sure jd got that across, but I just want to make sure they get it. I mean, I do believe you need to follow your intuition, but that doesn’t mean that you also don’t use your brains. Thanks for asking, by the way.  Great to get that straight. I’m sure you understand.  One doesn’t like to feel that just because they have their quirks that they are considered totally a goofball.  I’m a creative person—a painter.  There are those out there that think because you’re imaginative that you aren’t logical too.  Well, I’m sure there are people like there like that, but I’m not one of them.

Do you feel the author did a good job colorizing your personality?  If not, how would you like to have been portrayed differently?

Colorizing my personality?  What an interesting phrase. As an artist, those words are making me want me to paint an image to match them.  Very cool. I just might do that later.  But personally, I think my zany, creative, but clever personality shines through loud and clear in Quick Walk to Murder.  Heck, I’m so naturally colorized, jd didn’t have to do much work on that score.

What do you believe is your strongest trait?

Hm.  I’d say being honest when need be and being capable of knowing when a little lying can go a long way.  Grandma Murphy taught me that.

Worse trait?

Oh, that’s easy.  Being too vulnerable.  I’ve always had to fight this tendency.  When I was younger anyone could pull one over on me anytime.

If you could choose someone in the television or movie industry to play your part if your book was made into a movie, who would that be (and you can’t say yourself!)?

Well, Anne Hathaway would be perfect. I loved her in Becoming Jane, didn’t you?

Do you have a love interest in the book?

Oh, yeah. He’s a hunk.  Name’s Jay Mann. He’s a sculptor. Like, you should see him in his long white cotton robe.  Oh, dear, I’m blushing. Could we talk about something else?

At what point of the book did you start getting nervous about the way it was going to turn out?

When I was afraid it was Caitlin, a young woman who had convinced me she’d been abused by her brother.  I really, really did want her to be the killer.

If you could trade places with one of the other characters in the book, which character would you really not want to be and why?

I wouldn’t want to be Gator.  I couldn’t stand to smell like him and I’m really not a fisherman. Can’t imagine ever hunting gators either.

How do you feel about the ending of the book without giving too much away?

Oh, I just had to shake my head.  I mean, I really, really thought I had that worst trait thing (being vulnerable) under control. Not!  Life’s a surprise a minute—that’s what I say.

What words of wisdom would you give your author if she decided to write another book with you in it?

What words of wisdom would I give jd?  I’d say don’t let anyone tell you what to do or which way to go when you’re creating.  Artists need freedom.  Best advice:  You go, girl!

Thank you for this interview, Jessie Murphy.  Will we be seeing more of you in the future?

Cool set of questions you asked.  Been more than a pleasure answering them.  See me in the future?  You can bet on it.  In fact, I’ve already solved another tough murder case in Mayhem in Matlacha.  A buzz has already started. Business owners are marking their calendars for a launch party and reading extravaganza. Last reading I was led in by a bagpiper!  Can you believe it! And he ran me afterward to Micelli’s on the back of his Harley. Whooee! I’m sure you know that all Irish girls love a good party and swoon when bagpipes are played. And that’s the truth.

Thanks for having me. It’s been a blast.  Bye now.

Title: QUICK WALK TO MURDER

Genre: Mystery

Author: J.D. Daniels

Website: www.live-from-jd.com

Publisher: Savvy Books

Purchase on Amazon

Quick Walk to Murder opens with the murder of the son of a local crab fisher folk family. Young Jessie Murphy, an artist from Cambridge, MA who solved a homicide the previous season on the island, joins forces with two quirky, but savvy locals in hopes of bringing the murderer to justice. In her search for the reasons behind the murder, Jessie uncovers hidden—and frighteningly disturbing—relationships between the victim and many of his acquaintances.  Among them? A local crab fisherman who secretly hired the young man, the victim’s girlfriend and her over-protective brother, the victim’s college roommate, an adviser at college, a psychic, the victim’s mother and two strangers who show up on the island with badges.  With no shortage of suspects, Jessie launches a pulse-quickening investigation that  leads her to death’s door. But through her own power of reasoning and feisty Irish refusal to not finish a job once begun, Jessie uncovers a startling, surprising ending.

J

About the Author:

jd daniels is a mystery writer who divides her time between Southwest Florida and Iowa City, Iowa. She has also lived, written prose and poetry, and taught writing at the college level in Boston, Massachusetts and Ankara, Turkey.  She’s published five books, receiving an Iowa Arts Grant for her biography and reached the top of a best seller list for her book of poetry. Over the years, she has worked as a college professor, an aerobics instructor, a bartender, a restorer of historic homes, a landlady and has learned the art of carpentry, dry walling and bookmaking.  Quick Walk to Murder is the second release in the Jessie Murphy mystery series.   Through Pelican Eyes, the first Jessie Murphy mystery, was released in 2014.

Links:

http://www.live-from-jd.com/#!blog/c112v

www.live-from-jd.com

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

