Beyond the Books

Home » Character Interviews » Character Interview: Frank Swinicki from Brian W. Matthews’s Horror/Science Fiction thriller, The Conveyance

Character Interview: Frank Swinicki from Brian W. Matthews’s Horror/Science Fiction thriller, The Conveyance

Categories

Archives



character interviews logoWe’re thrilled to have here today Frank Swinicki from Brian W. Matthews’s new horror/science fiction thriller, The Conveyance.  Frank is a 42-year-old police detective living in Rock Mills, Michigan.

It is a pleasure to have him with us today at Beyond the Books!

Thank you so much for this interview, Frank.  Now that the book has been written, do you feel you were fairly portrayed or would you like to set anything straight with your readers?

 

Front_Cover_Image_The_Conveyance.jpgThanks for having me, and I appreciate the chance to offer up my side of the story. Brian’s a pretty good guy and all, but come on, do you really think he can capture every part of my charming personality? (Laughs)

 

So, the book—overall, I think I got a fair shake. At first I was upset at being the “sidekick” to the book’s main protagonist, Brad Jordan. But as the story unfolded, I got a larger role in what happens. By the end, I go from sidekick to hero. Well, co-hero would be a better word. Brad also had a little something to do with the outcome.

 

So yeah, I’d like the readers to know, while I’m a pretty cool in the early parts of the book, I end up a major badass by the end.

 

Do you feel the author did a good job colorizing your personality?  If not, how would you like to have been portrayed differently?

 

At times, I do come off as rough around the edges. He wrote me like I didn’t care about the feelings of others, especially toward Ricky Womblic, this grease monkey with a serious hard-on for space travel and aliens. I mean, I liked Ricky a lot, and I really tried to understand his fascination with little green men, but he was just so weird about it. Kinda makes me wonder what he does while watching Close Encounters of the Third Kind.

 

Anyway, I think Brian could have worked harder at bringing out my more sensitive side.

 

What do you believe is your strongest trait?

 

I’m a get things done kinda guy. Comes with being a cop. You got a problem, I solve it. In a story like this, you need someone with focus.

 

Worse trait?

 

Hmm. Don’t think I have one, but if I had to choose, it would be my impatience. I expect others to work as hard as I do, and I get frustrated if they don’t.

 

If you could choose someone in the television or movie industry to play your part if your book was made into a movie, who would that be (and you can’t say yourself!)?

 

Clint Eastwood! No, wait. He’s too old. How about Russell Crowe? He’s ruggedly handsome. Just not Pauley Shore. God, not him.

 

Do you have a love interest in the book?

 

It’s not that kind of story. My family is my love interest. Brad’s the same way. But I will tell you, there’s one scene in the book that’ll melt the pages, or the circuits if you read on one of those e-reader thingies. Can’t wait to hear how Brian’s mother reacts to that one.

 

At what point of the book did you start getting nervous about the way it was going to turn out?

 

About two-thirds the way in. Brian threw me and Brad into this big fight scene with some bad guys. I lost a vital part of my anatomy (which wasn’t part of my original agreement with Brian, by the way). That’s when I knew things were going south quickly.

 

If you could trade places with one of the other characters in the book, which character would you really not want to be and why?

 

That’s easy—the Green Queen. Didn’t like her. Whenever she was in a scene, she did her best to upstage the rest of us. “Look at me everyone, I’m the Green Queen!” Blah, blah, blah. Nope, didn’t like her at all.

 

How do you feel about the ending of the book without giving too much away?

 

I like it. Full of drama and action. I have a few stunts and stuff that makes it more exciting. It also leaves the door open for the story to continue, if “you know who” wants to go there.

 

What words of wisdom would you give your author if he decided to write another book with you in it?

 

Prequel, Brian. Think prequel.

 

Thank you for this interview, Frank.  Will we be seeing more of you in the future?

 

I hope so. I’d hate to be a one-and-done kind of character.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

085-EditWeb

Brian W. Matthews’s latest book is The Conveyance, a horror/science fiction novel about a child therapist who uncovers a secret long kept hidden form the world. Together with his friend, police detective Frank Swinicki, he doggedly follows a trail of murder and madness, eventually exposing a sinister conspiracy that threatens the existence of the human race. The Conveyance can be purchased directly from the publisher at www.journalstone.com or from Amazon.  

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

