Beyond the Books

Home » Character Interviews » Character Interview: Fyx from Patrick C Greene’s horror novel THE CRIMSON CALLING

Character Interview: Fyx from Patrick C Greene’s horror novel THE CRIMSON CALLING

Categories

Archives



character interviews logo

We’re thrilled to have here today Mister Fyx from Patrick C Greene’s new vampire novel THE CRIMSON CALLING.  Fyx is a four hundred and thirty seven year old professional soldier living in The Balkans.

It is a pleasure to have him with us today at Beyond the Books!

crimsonThank you so for this interview, Mister Fyx  Now that the book has been written, do you feel you were fairly portrayed or would you like to set anything straight with your readers?

FYX: Lemme tell you something, mate. I don’t really give a good goddamn what anybody says or thinks about me, especially not some warmie barely outta his mum. “Warmie,” that’s shorthand for you mortals. But as for the facts, this bloke Greene seems to have colored pretty close to the lines, I’ll give him that.

Do you feel the author did a good job colorizing your personality?  If not, how would you like to have been portrayed differently?

FYX: “Colorizing?” What in the bloody hell is that s’posed to mean? I aint no bloody Turner Classic Movie. Look, some poor misguided newbloods, that’s what we call fresh-turned vamps, popped up and I gave ‘em hell. Put me boot in their raggedy asses. You wanna bloody play-by-play, hire one of them ESPN clowns.

What do you believe is your strongest trait?

FYX: I’m caring, nurturing, well-versed in the works of all the poet-philosophers, and I find great joy in flower arranging. Jeez, you warmies ask silly questions. I kick ass. It’s my job AND my hobby. You want a negotiator, I’ll fetch you my buddy Vargas.

Worse trait?

FYX: When I feed, I tend to waste a drop or two in my fervor, if you will.

If you could choose someone in the television or movie industry to play your part if your book was made into a movie, who would that be (and you can’t say yourself!)?

FYX: Vinnie Jones is just about the only meaningful choice. He’s a bit soft, but maybe he could turn it up a bit to wear my shoes.

Do you have a love interest in the book?

FYX: Mate, right now I don’t know whether to laugh at you or bleed you dry.

At what point of the book did you start getting nervous about the way it was going to turn out?

FYX: My best mate Jiang was kidnapped by those turncoat fucking newbs. Anyone who can lay mitts on Jiang and still be walkin’ round aint no comedy act if you catch my wave. He’s a former warlord you see, gone all… introspective here lately. I reckon those bastards pumped him for a lot of info, and likely didn’t get it. But the short-candle science geeks working with ‘em probably made some eureka or other, squinting into their little microscopes. Bottom line; bad warmies working with bad newbloods is a bad mix.

If you could trade places with one of the other characters in the book, which character would you really not want to be and why?

FYX: Well I damn sure wouldn’t want to be any fucking newb that crossed my path, I’ll tell you that. But our girl Olivia, the lass you might call our “heroine,” she’s got more to lose, and to gain, than I ever did. She’s barely an adult, even by warmie standards, and already up to her ears in hurt. Then we’re asking so much of her. If I had any pity, I’d feel it for her.

How do you feel about the ending of the book without giving too much away?

FYX: I had some fun getting there – and some harsh bumps in the road I’ll say.  What a bloody fucking mess we all made!

What words of wisdom would you give your author if he decided to write another book with you in it?

FYX: I’d say if you ever get the guts to do it instead of writing it, come to our castle stronghold out in The Balks. We’ll bring you into our little club right proper.

Thank you for this interview, Mister Fyx.  Will we be seeing more of you in the future?

FYX: Heh. Depends what you mean by “future” mate.

patrick headshot interviews

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

With the success of his first novel PROGENY from Hobbes End Publishing, Patrick C. Greene became known for a brand of horror as emotional as it is terrifying, as engaging as it is suspenseful. Living at night, deep in the mountains of Western North Carolina with his wife and two sons, Greene expresses his morbid interests via painting and illustration when not writing. In addition to his novels Progeny and The Crimson Calling, the short story collection Dark Destinies, and multiple appearances in both The Endlands and Wrapped anthology series, Greene is currently hard at work on what he hopes to be a perennial Halloween favorite called The Death of October. Follow the author on Facebook.

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

