Beyond the Books

Home » Uncategorized » Beyond the Books with MC Domovitch

Beyond the Books with MC Domovitch

Categories

Archives



Monique DornovitchM C Domovitch is the author of nine novels, four of which were published under the name of Carol Ann Martin (by Penguin), another two under the name Monique Domovitch (by Carina Press) The other three are published as M C Domovitch, Scorpio Rising, The Sting of the Scorpio (Both now republished in one single tome) and Scar Tissue. The decision to use a different pen name was based on her departure from cozy mysteries and entering the Romance and Romantic Suspense genres.

Before becoming an author, Monique had multiple careers, beginning with modeling. She won a modeling contest in the 70s and became one of Canada’s top models. After retiring from the fashion industry, she studied finance and joined an investment company. This led to a new career as host of her own television show about investing, with the television network, WTN. Following her retirement from finance, she decided to pursue her true passion, writing. At a writing workshop at San Diego’s Writers’ Conference, one of her unpublished books caught the eye of a publisher and of an agent. And the rest, as they say, is history.

Domovitch lives with her physician husband and their dogs. They divide their time between homes in Victoria and Toronto Canada and Key Largo Florida.

For More Information

About the Book:

When successful model Ciara Cain wakes up in hospital, remembering nothing of the weeks she has been missing, her only clues are the ugly words carved into her skin. According to the police she was a victim of the Cutter, a serial Scar Tissuekiller who has already murdered three women. For her protection the police and her doctors give a press conference, announcing that because her amnesia is organically caused, her memory loss is permanent. But, whether her memory returns or not is anybody’s guess.
Overnight, Ciara’s glamorous life is gone. Her scars have killed both her modelling career and her relationship with her rich boyfriend. With nothing to keep her in New York, she returns to her home town of Seattle, moves in with her sister and goes about building a new life. But when her sister lets it slip that Ciara’s memory is returning, the killer comes after her again. If Ciara is to stay alive, she must keep one step ahead of the Cutter.

For More Information

Scar Tissue teaserQ: Welcome to Beyond the Books, M. C.  Can we start out by telling us whether you are published for the first time or are you multi-published?

Scar Tissue is actually my ninth novel. It is the first in a new series, Mindsight. The main character is Ciara.

The book starts with her running for her life through the woods. She runs onto a highway and gets hit by a car as tries to flag it down. The next thing she knows, she’s in hospital and remembers nothing of her accident or what brought her there. The interesting thing about this character is that the accident has left her with a tiny bit of scar tissue from a bleed in her brain, which gives her an ability she views as a curse. However, in time, this ability will help save her life.

Q: When you were published for the first time, which route did you go – mainstream, small press, vanity published or self-published and why or how did you choose this route?

I was extremely lucky. So many authors never get the opportunity to get picked up by a publishing house, I was certain I’d have to go the self-published route, but, before I had fully polished my first novel, I was already offered two contracts for series, one with Penguin and the other with Harlequin. I published a total of six books with them. I guess you can call me a hybrid author in that I do both. I work with publishers and I also self-publish.

Q: How long did it take you to get published once you signed the contract?

That was my first big surprise, the amount of time everything takes when you go the traditional route. Once your novel is done, you can expect about one year before it sees the shelves of a bookstore. By then you’ve already finished another novel and should be hard at work on a third.

Q: How did it make you feel to become published for the first time and how did you celebrate?

I cried. Being an author was always my life’s dream, and starting late in life, as I did, I really did not expect it would come so easily.

Q: What was the first thing you did as for as promotion when you were published for the first time?

I did a few online book tours, and blabbed about it all over Facebook and Twitter. I still do that. I also created an author website for myself, which I’ve just updated a couple of weeks ago. Once in a while I post a few lines on my blog page. What I like best about my site is that it offers the possibility for reader to register for my newsletter. In return for registering, they might occasionally get free books, or participate in draws for free kindles. I just had a draw last week for a kindle fire. The winner was so thrilled. She said it was the first time in her life she ever won anything.

That list of readers makes up my fan base. They are the readers who post reviews, and a few have even become my beta readers.

Q: Since you’ve been published, how have you grown as a writer and now a published author?

English is my second language. I am French by birth. When I was young we all spoke French at home. So my biggest challenge has always been syntax. I still struggle with it, but after going through the editing process so many times, I’ve gotten better at it.

Q: What has surprised or amazed you about the publishing industry as a whole?

My biggest surprise is how much it has changed. Years ago, when I used to dream about being a writer, nobody self-published. The few who did used what was then called vanity presses. They were poo-pooed in the industry and nobody ever sold books that way.

Now, it’s a brand new world out there. Self-publishing is recognized as a legitimate business.

Q: What is the most rewarding thing about being a published author?

Holding that book, you worked so hard on, in your hands for the first time is an indescribably sensation. You really feel that you’ve created something. Otherwise, your novel is likely to rot away in a dark drawer somewhere and gather dust.

Q: Any final words for writers who dream of being published one day?

Do it. Get to it. Don’t put it off. If I could live my life over again, I’d start writing straight out of school. I know it’s scary. It feels like a huge financial risk. It’s practically impossible to earn a living in the first years of a writing career. But, you can have a job, but get up early and write before going to work. You can stay up and write instead of watching TV. If you want it, make it happen. Your destiny rests with you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

