Beyond the Books

Home » Uncategorized » Talking Books with YA Scifi Author Robynn E. Sheahan

Talking Books with YA Scifi Author Robynn E. Sheahan

Categories

Archives



robynn-e-sheahanI have always been a reader. I love books. When I’m not able to read, I listen to audio books. I started writing while working as a Paramedic/Firefighter in Northern California. Trust me, it’s not like it appears on TV. There was plenty of time for books, mostly reading them. I didn’t seriously start writing until I moved to my ranch in Oregon. While waiting for lambs to be born in the middle of the night, I would head back to the house for an hour or two and sit down at the computer. Before I knew it, I had a manuscript. Not a good one, but a start.I joined critique groups and attended writer’s conferences. I was on the fast track to learning.

In 2013, I received an honorable mention in Writer’s Digest’s Self Published book awards for MG/YA. I guess I am learning something!

Ideas from dreams follow me into warm sunny days or the quiet of falling snow. “What ifs” feed a vivid imagination. Even mistyped phrases may lead to an “aha” moment. Brain storming sessions standing in windy, dark parking lots with fellow writers release thoughts that pry at the corners of my mind, grasping for purchase. Sometimes the ideas pursue me, with persistence.

For More Information

About the Book:

A forbidden birth. A remarkable young woman. A marauding alien society. The battle begins.

A brutal alien society invades Korin and Arranon, intent on destroying the two worlds that make up Cadet Erynn storm-of-arranonYager’s home. Forced to expose her strange abilities and reveal her forbidden birth, a guarded web of secrets unravels.

Stranded on an unfamiliar planet of eternal winter and predatory wildlife, the mysterious living consciousness of Arranon intervenes, leading Erynn on a mystical journey.

Aware of Erynn’s potential, the alien enemy pursues her. She struggles to gain control of her growing powers while in a constant race to elude the invaders, and join the forces preparing to fight a mounting occupation.

Erynn’s secret may be her worlds’ only hope, but at the cost of her life. Swept up in a chain reaction of events, Erynn’s dedication extends far beyond service and duty. She learns the true meaning of sacrifice.

Along with courage and hope, Erynn finds something unexpected on her journey of awareness and growth.

Love.

For More Information

  • Storm of Arranon is available at Amazon.
  • Discuss this book at PUYB Virtual Book Club at Goodreads.

 

Q: Welcome to Beyond the Books, Robynn.  Can we start out by telling us whether you are published for the first time or are you multi-published?

I have three published books, Storm of Arranon is the first in the series, the fourth is scheduled for release later this year or early next year.

Q: When you were published for the first time, which route did you go – mainstream, small press, vanity published or self-published and why or how did you choose this route?

I submitted to agents and traditional publishers, but after a year of rejection letters, I decided to self-publish. I continued to query publishers and earlier this year, I signed a contract with a small press for book four in the series. They also have a first option for book five.

Q: How long did it take you to get published once you signed the contract?

We still have edits to go through, but they are confident if the process continues with no glitches, as early as three to six months.

Q: How did it make you feel to become published for the first time and how did you celebrate?

When I held that print copy in my hands for the first time, it was an incredible feeling. I’d done it! My critique group threw a little celebration every time one of us published a book complete with sparkling cider and cake.

Q: What was the first thing you did as for as promotion when you were published for the first time?

I started with a Goodreads giveaway and queried blogs and websites about reviews. Just getting the book out there any way I could.

Q: Since you’ve been published, how have you grown as a writer and now a published author?

I have learned so much and continue to learn. There’s more to an author’s career than writing books. Next comes marketing and promotion. It all takes time and effort, and giving up when it gets difficult isn’t an option. The biggest area of growth for me would be confidence in my writing and in myself.

Q: What has surprised or amazed you about the publishing industry as a whole?

It’s challenging to even get your work looked at by agents and publishers. I do understand they have stacks of manuscripts from thousands of aspiring authors to slog through and there’s no easy answer. I’m sure it’s frustrating for both sides.

Q: What is the most rewarding thing about being a published author?

Wow! That rush of excitement and feeling of achievement when someone enjoys my books and they can’t wait to read more.

Q: Any final words for writers who dream of being published one day?

Write. Read. Read books on writing. Attend writer’s workshops and conferences. Get involved with a critique group or two. Always be willing to learn. Have your work professionally edited and proofread. And most important, have fun with your writing.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

