Beyond the Books

Home » Character Interviews » Character Interview: Alex Moreno from Liza Treviño’s women’s contemporary fiction novel, ‘All That Glitters: A Tale of Sex, Drugs and Hollywood Dreams’

Character Interview: Alex Moreno from Liza Treviño’s women’s contemporary fiction novel, ‘All That Glitters: A Tale of Sex, Drugs and Hollywood Dreams’

Categories

Archives



character interviews logo

We’re thrilled to have here today Alexandria Moreno from Liza Treviño’s new women’s fiction novel, All That Glitters: A Tale of Sex, Drugs and Hollywood Dreams.  Alex Moreno is a 33 year old, film director screenwriter hyphenate living in Los Angeles, California.

It is a pleasure to have her with us today at Beyond the Books!

Thank you for inviting me here.

Thank you so much for this interview, Alex.  Now that the book has been written, do you feel you were fairly portrayed or would you like to set anything straight with your readers?

Yeah, I think I might’ve been a little too fairly portrayed. Seeing it all there in black and white, well, it’s hard to believe that’s supposed to be me. Sure, there was some poetic license here and there, especially early on…and, yeah…there are a few things that I’ll say are pure speculation on the author’s part, but I get it.  She’s got to tell a story and she’s got to amp up for maximum impact. I see myself in there, and I’m not too surprised about how I come off.

Do you feel the author did a good job colorizing your personality?  If not, how would you like to have been portrayed differently?

It’s weird to read about yourself, that’s for sure.  But, I think the author wrote me as I am – without pulling too many punches.  She wrote me as a “take it or leave it” kind of chick.  That’s not so great for me, because I can come off as, shall we say, unsympathetic? And that’s fair.  What can I say, I’ve proudly been “unsympathetic” from time to time.

What do you believe is your strongest trait?

Hmmm, I guess it would be my ability to focus on a goal 100% until it’s accomplished and do whatever it takes to make the goal happen.

Worse trait?

The same as my strongest trait. Really.

If you could choose someone in the television or movie industry to play your part if your book was made into a movie, who would that be (and you can’t say yourself!)?

I’d really like a Latina to portray me. I’d love someone like a cross between Michelle Rodriguez and Salma Hayek to play me. Yeah, that would be fucking cool. 

Do you have a love interest in the book?

Yeah, I guess you could say that. I mean, definitely more than I realized.

At what point of the book did you start getting nervous about the way it was going to turn out?

Can I say the first page? I write about other people, so to start reading, and know that the person on the page is me…well, it’s surreal. I mean, it’s all right there from the first page.

If you could trade places with one of the other characters in the book, which character would you really not want to be and why? 

My ex, Nick.  It would be depressing to be that much of an asshole—sorry, to be that much of a jerk. All. The.Time.

How do you feel about the ending of the book without giving too much away?

It’s dramatic, cinematic and I like that it provides closure without feeling final. How’s that for vague?  You know, I dig the wraparound structure the author used to tell the story. So, you start with the end at the beginning and then see everything that led up to that point, like Raging Bull. That’s cool. So, when the story does “catch up” to the end, there’s a sense of, “oh, THAT’S why that was happening.”  It made the ending feel more complete overall.

What words of wisdom would you give your author if s/he decided to write another book with you in it?

I’d say, good luck with trying to keep up with my next adventures.  

Thank you for this interview, Alex.  Will we be seeing more of you in the future?

No doubt about it.

I certainly hope so. You’ll have to read the book to find out.

/////////////////

184cd-author2blisa

Liza Treviño hails from Texas, spending many of her formative years on the I-35 corridor of San Antonio, Austin and Dallas.  In pursuit of adventure and a Ph.D., Liza moved to Los Angeles where she compiled a collection of short-term, low-level Hollywood jobs like script girl, producer assistant and production assistant.  Her time as a Hollywood Jane-of-all-trades gave her an insider’s view to a world most only see from the outside, providing the inspiration for creating a new breed of Latina heroine. Website: lizatrevino.com

All That Glitters Cover

About the book: 

Alexandria Moreno – clever, sexy, ambitious and, at times, self-destructive – blazes a path from Texas to Los Angeles at the dawn of the 1980s to make her dreams of becoming an A-list Hollywood film director come true. She and her best friend arrive in Los Angeles with little more than hope and determination to make it big. Alex, her beauty as dark and mysterious as her scarred heart, stands at the bottom of the Hollywood mountain looking up, fighting for her chance to climb to the top. Will her quest to live fast and take no prisoners on her way to the top destroy her in the end?

All That Glitters is a women’s fiction Jackie Collins-type saga that introduces a strong, driven Latina heroine at the center of a rags-to-riches story spanning a decade of action. Along the way, Alexandria walks the fine line separating ambition and self-destruction, and discovers that some sacrifices will cost her everything.

Advance Praise for All That Glitters

Kudos to Liza Treviño for giving us this unique image of the New Latina! I urge reading All that Glitters. You won’t regret it. – Graciela Limón, author
Treviño tells her story with wit, intelligence, and an undercurrent of sadness at the plight women face to make a name for themselves as human beings instead of strictly as women.” Jonathan Marcantoni, author and publisher of La Casita Grande Press

Click to Buy on Amazon: All That Glitters

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

