Beyond the Books

Home » Uncategorized » Character Interview: Elvis the Dragon from Anne K. Edwards Children’s Book, Dominick and the Dragon

Character Interview: Elvis the Dragon from Anne K. Edwards Children’s Book, Dominick and the Dragon

Categories

Archives



 

character interviews logoWe’re thrilled to have here today Elvis the Dragon from Anne K. Edwards’ new childrens’ book, Dominick and the Dragon.  Elvis is an ageless dragon, living in The Dark Forest.

It is a pleasure to have him with us today at Beyond the Books!

Thank you so much for this interview, Elvis. Now that the book has been written, do you feel you were fairly portrayed or would you like to set anything straight with your readers?

No, I’m not fairly portrayed in the book. That Anne K. Edwards makes me sound like a bully. Well, I’m not. Never was.  I’m just hungry all the time. I live in a place called The Dark Forest and there really isn’t much to eat besides trees and bushes.  Have you ever eaten a tree? Some of them like the pine tree taste awful and their needles get stuck in my fangs. Did you ever try to dig a pine needle out of your fangs with a claw? There are prickly bushes that scratch me, too. Some have really good black berries on them, but others just get little white flowers on them and have long sharp things on their stems. Sometimes those pointed things get under my scales and they itch. Is it any wonder that I leave The Dark Forest sometimes to find something good to eat?  But I promise, I wouldn’t really ever eat a little boy. I just like to tease them. I’m really quite a nice fellow, better when I have food. Do you know any place I can find something tasty?

DominickCoverForKDPDo you feel the author did a good job colorizing your personality? If not, how would you like to have been portrayed differently?

No, no, no. The author made me look silly and mean. When you read about me, don’t believe everything she says.  When I met that little boy, Dominick, and told him how big and strong my wings are and how high I can fly, she made people think I was bragging.  I wasn’t, I just try to impress people I want to like me so I tell them about myself. I was only showing Dominick what I can do. Don’t you tell people what you can do? I’d really like the author to apologize to me and make me sound like the good fellow I am. We dragons have been given a bad reputation because of some guy called St. George who went around attacking us. The writers like this Anne K. Edwards also write stories and tell everybody that we’re the villains. Well, so what if we lose our temper sometimes. How would you like it if some guy in an iron suit started chasing you with a sharp stick? People like him drive us out of our homes and then get mad when we try to get it back. Wouldn’t you have a bad temper if you were chased all the time? That makes me soooo mad. This writer told the story as if I was a bad dragon for inviting Dominick to see my cave and meet my wife. Wouldn’t you want her to tell the truth about you if she made you sound bad?

What do you believe is your strongest trait?

I like to show people how we dragons can fly and blow fire out of our nose. That’s why we have to be careful what we eat. That’s why we eat so much woody fiber. My strongest trait is how good a neighbor I am. I don’t eat folks’ gardens no matter how hungry I get. I don’t scare their dogs in the middle of the night and make them bark. I don’t mess up their yards either like those messy kids do. Why, do you know those boys make so much noise I can’t hear my wife call me? Yet, I don’t complain. And when they tell those stories about me, I hold my temper and am very patient. I wish they would be better neighbors too and keep their boys out of The Dark Forest. They’re messy there too.

Worse trait?

I don’t have any worse trait. We dragons hardly ever do a bad thing, but we get the blame anyhow when thing happen. I suppose they’ll soon find a way to blame us for Hansel and Gretel eating the witch’s house and pushing her in that oven.

If you could choose someone in the television or movie industry to play your part if your book was made into a movie, who would that be (and you can’t say yourself!)?

Hollywood doesn’t offer us dragons many parts in movies, but if they did want to make a movie of my book, I’d like that crazy guy that’s always eating Tokyo. He’s awesome. Do you think they could give me a passport to go to Japan? Or would they let me fly in one of their airplanes? Maybe they could bring him to California and let him eat part of Los Angeles. Since he likes the water, maybe he could swim across the Pacific Ocean. Do you think he would want to play me? He’s really fierce looking and has a great growl.

At what point of the book did you start getting nervous about the way it was going to turn out?

Right from the beginning. When I met the kid who was living the story with me, I knew right away the people would sympathize with him when he met me. That made me the guy who’d get hissed like in the movies. I was glad when the kid left The Dark Forest. I think he pretended most of the time to be scared to get all the attention. I don’t ever want to be in another story with him.

If you could trade places with one of the other characters in the book, which character would you really not want to be and why?

I wouldn’t want to be Dominick. He’s not very big and he can’t do anything. I mean he can’t make fire, He doesn’t have any wings. He can’t fly and see the world from high up. He lives in a house that is too small. He has to do what his parents tell him. He has two noisy brothers and they are messy. I couldn’t live with people. Really, I feel kind of sorry for Dominick.

How do you feel about the ending of the book without giving too much away?

I was disappointed in the ending, but mostly because I didn’t get to be the hero. You know what I mean—when all the loose ends are tied up and people are patting each other on the back.  Nobody patted me on the back.

What words of wisdom would you give your author if s/he decided to write another book with you in it?

Write me as the main character. Let me do fun things. Let people like me a lot. It would be a much better book. Dragons are a lot more interesting that a little boy, don’t you think?

Thank you for this interview, (name of character). Will we be seeing more of you in the future?

Yes. I just saw the plot and I still have to share the attention with that little boy. You’d think that a writer could write a story about a dragon having adventures instead of a little boy. I’m older. I’ve been out in the world more. I know lots of things he’ll never know, but I didn’t know about Christmas. What is it for?

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Anne K. Edwards resides on a farm with her husband and a bunch of cats who rule the roost.  When she’s not arguing with them about using the computer, she is dancing attendance on their demands. Anne enjoys reading, meeting new people,

http://www.AnneKEdwards.com

About your book with purchase link:

https://www.amazon.com/Dominick-Dragon-Book-ebook/dp/B01N9F3RFS/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1497205815&sr=1-1&keywords=Dominick+and+the+Dragon+by+Anne+K.+Edwards

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

