Beyond the Books

Home » Uncategorized » Character Interview: Erik Burks from Beverly Stowe McClure’s Middle Grade paranormal novel A PIRATE, A BLOCKADE RUNNER, AND A CAT

Character Interview: Erik Burks from Beverly Stowe McClure’s Middle Grade paranormal novel A PIRATE, A BLOCKADE RUNNER, AND A CAT

Categories

Archives



pirate-blockade-runner-cat-333x500We’re thrilled to have here today Erik Burks from Beverly Stowe McClure’s new Middle Grade paranormal novel, A PIRATE, A BLOCKADE RUNNER, AND A CAT. Erik is a thirteen-year-old student living in Folly Island, SC.

It is a pleasure to have him with us today at Beyond the Books!

Thank you so much for this interview, Erik.  Now that the book has been written, do you feel you were fairly portrayed or would you like to set anything straight with your readers? 

Yes, I think I was fairly portrayed. I had a hard time adjusting to a new home and new friends, but it all turned out okay. At times, I tried my mom’s patience. Hey, I’m a kid. I’m not perfect.

Do you feel the author did a good job colorizing your personality?  If not, how would you like to have been portrayed differently? 

Yeah, Ms. McClure showed my personality pretty much accurately. After my parents split up I tried to be nice to my mom cause I knew she was having a hard time. But a guy can take only so many “nights out with the girls,” meaning my mom and aunt. I sometimes did things with my twin neighbors that I didn’t tell Mom about, like sailing up the Carolina coast with a couple of ghosts.

What do you believe is your strongest trait? 

Gee, that’s a tough question. I don’t want to sound like I’m bragging but I’m great at baseball. Is that a trait?

Worse trait? 

Umm, I’d say holding a grudge against my dad for leaving me.

If you could choose someone in the television or movie industry to play your part if your book was made into a movie, who would that be (and you can’t say yourself!)?

A movie about me? Wow! Let me think. Maybe Zachary Gordon. He’s a little older than me, but in the movies they can make you look any age.

Do you have a love interest in the book?

You’re kidding, right? I’m thirteen, and to tell you the truth, I don’t understand girls. Star’s cute but she’s a pain too. Always reading my mind dream. That’s embarrassing sometimes.

At what point of the book did you start getting nervous about the way it was going to turn out?

When we were on board the “Revenge,” Pirate Stede Bonnet’s ship and Blackbeard showed up it got kind of scary. The pirates fought each other with their cutlasses. Sharp, let me tell you. And Blackbeard trapped the twins and me in these spider-like webs. I was afraid they’d make us walk the plank or just toss us overboard. I’m not telling what happened, but I don’t want to see those pirates ever again.

If you could trade places with one of the other characters in the book, which character would you really not want to be and why?

I wouldn’t want to be Stormy. He has to live with his mind-dream reading sister, Star. It’s bad enough when she reads my mind when we‘re together, but imagine never having a break. Twenty-four hours a day she knows all of Stormy’s thoughts. I shudder at the thought.

How do you feel about the ending of the book without giving too much away? 

I guess the book ends the way it has to. I have a feeling, though, it’s not really an end, but maybe a beginning. If that makes sense.

What words of wisdom would you give your author if s/he decided to write another book with you in it?

Haha. Good question. I’d like to be a bit smarter in the next book and not so intimidated by Star and her mind reading. I’d like to solve my problems easier. You hear that Ms. McClure?

Thank you for this interview, Erik.  Will we be seeing more of you in the future?

Thank you for the neat questions. I smile. No more books have been planned, but you never know. I feel the ghosts are restless, that something is left unfinished in their lives.

ABOUT THE BOOK

Title:   A Pirate, a Blockade Runner, and a Cat

Genre:   Paranormal

Author:  Beverly Stowe McClure

Website: http://beverlystowemcclure.wordpress.com

Publisher: MuseItUp Publishing

Purchase on Amazon

Thirteen-year-old Erik Burks’ life is falling apart. When he discovers a lace bra in the glove compartment of his dad’s car, his mom leaves his father and drags Erik from being king of the hill in Texas to the bottom of the pits in South Carolina. No Dad, no baseball, no friends, just Starry Knight (a girl who reads minds) and her equally weird brother, Stormy, the twins that live down the block.

Just when Erik thinks life can’t get any worse, while hanging out at the beach one evening, he and the twins notice lights radiating from the lighthouse. Stranger still, a ship materializes in the moonlit harbor. Curious, the twins and a reluctant Erik investigate and discover the ghost of a blockade runner, a cat, and a pirate who prowls Charleston Harbor, and the fun begins.

Bev_medium

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

When Beverly Stowe McClure was in eighth grade, her teacher sent her poem “Stars” to the National High School Poetry Association, and she was soon a published writer in Young America Sings, an anthology of Texas high school poetry. Today, Beverly is a cum laude graduate of Midwestern State University with a BSEd degree. For twenty-two years, she taught children to read and write. They taught her patience. She is affectionately known as the “Bug Lady” because she rescues butterflies, moths, walking sticks, and praying mantis from her cats.

Most of the time, you’ll find Beverly in front of her computer, writing the stories little voices in her head tell her. When she’s not writing, she takes long walks and snaps photos of clouds, wild flowers, birds and deer. She also enjoys visiting with her family and teaching a women’s Sunday school class at her church. Her articles have been published in leading children’s magazines. Two of her stories are in CHICKEN SOUP FOR THE SOUL ANTHOLOGIES, and she has nine novels published, two of them award winning novels at Children’s Literary Classics and other competitions.

http://beverlystowemcclure.wordpress.com

http://beverlystowemcclure.blogspot.com

https://www.facebook.com/beverlysmcclure

https://twitter.com/beverlymcclure

2 Comments

  1. Beverly says:

    Hi, Erik here. Thanks for letting me visit your blog today. I had fun with the questions.

  2. Hi, Erik. Great interview. I’ve already read A Pirate, a Blockade Runner, and a Cat, but I learned more about you from this interview.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!

