Beyond the Books

Home » author interviews » Interview with Paula Wiseman, author of ‘Contingency’

Interview with Paula Wiseman, author of ‘Contingency’

Categories

Archives



After working several years as research chemist, Paula Wiseman was blessed with the opportunity to stay home with her children and follow the writer’s path. She has been published in several Cup of Comfort devotional books and in Life Savors for Women. Contingency: Book One: Covenant of Trust Series, her debut novel, spent time on the Amazon.com Christian Fiction bestsellers list, and was also the #1 Hot New Release in Christian Fiction. Indemnity is her second novel. Paula blogs on matters of life and faith at www.paulawiseman.com.

Q: Welcome to Beyond the Books, Paula.  Can we start out by telling us whether you are published for the first time or are you multi-published?

Contingency is my first book. I had short devotional pieces published in several compilations before.

Q: When you were published for the first time, which route did you go – mainstream, small press, vanity published or self-published and why or how did you choose this route?

I’m self-published. My decision was based more on the publisher I’m working with than the method, although I do like the amount of input I have in the process.

Q: How long did it take you to get published once you signed the contract?

It was pretty quick actually. We had a verbal agreement in July 2010, signed a contract in September and Contingency released in late December.

Q: How did it make you feel to become published for the first time and how did you celebrate?

We had a short “wow” moment and went out for dinner, but there’s a whole new level of hard work that follows publication. After the breather, it was back to work.

Q: What was the first thing you did as far as promotion when you were published for the first time?

I used social media, especially Facebook, to get the word out through my profile, my author page and through targeted ads.

Q: Since you’ve been published, how have you grown as a writer and now a published author?

I think some of the pressure is off now, and I can focus less on trying to prove myself and more on writing. My stories are deeper and more complex. My early drafts are better, and my editing skills are improving.

Q: What has surprised or amazed you about the publishing industry as a whole?

 How quickly things are changing right now, especially in regards to the role of technology. For example, we had to add a supplement to my contract between the time I signed and the book’s release to add new formats. A writer definitely has to be savvy and nimble.

Q: What is the most rewarding thing about being a published author?

Hearing from readers – no question.

Q: Any final words for writers who dream of being published one day?

When you get rejected, take a break from your project and write something new. Write for the pure joy of creation. Be brilliant again. Then when you have your confidence back, pick up your project and get back to work.

That person who will always believe in you no matter what … hang on to him or her. Tightly.

 Click on banner to take you to Paula Wiseman’s tour page!


2 Comments

  1. Thanks for the interview! I really enjoyed being your guest :-)
    Blessings!

  2. […] Interviewed at Beyond the Books […]

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!