Beyond the Books

Home » author interviews » Interview with T.M. Wallace: ‘I had no idea how polished the book needed to be’

Interview with T.M. Wallace: ‘I had no idea how polished the book needed to be’

Categories

Archives



T. M. Wallace lives in Ontario, Canada with her husband and four children. At eight years old, she won a short story contest and was published in a local newspaper. She wrote her first book at ten years old called “The Adventures of Pinkstar,” about a stuffed rabbit who magically comes to life. T. M. Wallace received her Master’s degree in English Literature from Carleton University and a degree in Education from the University of Ottawa. In 2010 her latest book, Under A Fairy Moon, was a quarter-finalist in the Amazon Breakthrough Novel awards. Under A Fairy Moon will be published by Brownridge Publishing in June, 2011.

You can visit her website at www.tmwallace.com.

Q: Welcome to Beyond the Books, Theresa.  Can we start out by telling us whether you are published for the first time or are you multi-published?

Under a Fairy Moon is my first published novel.

Q: When you were published for the first time, which route did you go – mainstream, small press, vanity published or self-published and why or how did you choose this route?

Brownridge Publishing is a small Canadian press. A small press may not have the budget of the big presses, but from what I hear, authors (especially first-time authors) can get lost in a big company … and still end up having to do a lot of the marketing by themselves! A small press gives you the attention that large presses can’t offer.

Q: How long did it take you to get published once you signed the contract?

There were so many drafts back and forth from my editor! I had no idea how polished the book needed to be – My editor was wonderfully patient, though, and I learned a lot. It took over a year to from start to finish.

Q: How did it make you feel to become published for the first time and how did you celebrate?

I couldn’t believe it! I just kept staring at that beautiful cover and those words that were my very own! I went out for a long walk, feeling really happy. Then I went out to dinner with my family.

Q: What was the first thing you did as for as promotion when you were published for the first time?

I had these beautiful post-cards made up, with the cover artwork on the front and a short synopsis and review from Publisher’s Weekly on the back. These I could hand out to people at book signings and school visits. I even sent some of them to a few libraries in the area.

Q: Since you’ve been published, how have you grown as a writer and now a published author?

I know now what terribly hard work each novel is. I’ll know that next time when I think I’m done – I’m probably not! Editing is such an important part of writing that I can’t stress it enough.

Q: What has surprised or amazed you about the publishing industry as a whole?

I can’t believe how complex it has become, how it’s not enough anymore just to write a good book … you have to have a web-presence as well, including a web-page, blog and social networking. There are so many publishing formats, as well, like ebooks (notably mobi and epub versions) for internet stores and and audio-books.

Q: What is the most rewarding thing about being a published author?

The most rewarding thing is feeling like I finally have a voice. My story is only one among thousands, but it’s just as important that I be heard as anyone else. I have had a wonderful journey through life so far and have been blessed with many good gifts (not the least of which is an ever-expanding imagination!) I am thankful that I can now share all these gifts (at least intellectually) with others.

Q: Any final words for writers who dream of being published one day?

It sounds trite, but it really is true: follow your own path. Listen to what you feel may be helpful advice, but DON’T internalize the negatives and be carried away with every criticism an editor throws your way. Stick to what you love and have the integrity not to be swayed by the latest fashion or popularity contest. In the end you will have earned success while keeping your writer’s soul intact.

 


Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!