Beyond the Books

Home » author interviews » Interview with Kenny Scudero: ‘You just need to stick with it and believe’

Interview with Kenny Scudero: ‘You just need to stick with it and believe’

Categories

Archives



Kenny ScuderoComfortably Awkward is Kenny Scudero’s debut self-published novel. He is a twenty-two year old author from New York City who looks forward to a bright future in writing. Kenny recently graduated from St. John’s University where he majored in Sport Management. At St. John’s, Kenny was Sports Editor for the University newspaper. After graduating from St. John’s, Kenny had trouble finding a job and wrote “Comfortably Awkward” based off that frustration. He is currently working on his second novel.

You can visit Kenny’s website at www.kennyscudero.com for more information.

ABOUT COMFORTABLY AWKWARD

Comfortably AwkwardFor Albert Ferenzo, life is a series of ironic events that may or may not have a reason behind them. While struggling to find a niche for himself, Albert blames the corporate world for hindering his dream of making money and living a prosperous life. After playing the good guy his entire life, Albert decides that the only way to get ahead in the world is to be the bad guy. Albert questions his own fate as he drives himself to insanity in an effort to find happiness. The destinies of Albert and everyone around him intertwine as he finally realizes what life is all about or at least, he thinks he does in this revolt against normality.

Q: Welcome to Beyond the Books, Kenny.  Can we start out by telling us whether you are published for the first time or are you multi-published?

This is the first book I’ve ever written and it’s the first time I’ve published.

Q: When you were published for the first time, which route did you go – mainstream, small press, vanity published or self-published and why or how did you choose this route?

I self-published because I was tired of rejection letters from agents and publishers. I tried going the traditional route but I wanted to get this story out there so I could continue writing on new projects. I did learn a lot through self-publishing but I’d like my next work to be published by a big-time publisher.

Q: How long did it take you to get published once you signed the contract?

Since I self-published, the process took about two months between creating a cover and going through the reviewing process. From the day I finished writing my novel and began the self-publishing process, my book was for sale two months later.

Q: How did it make you feel to become published for the first time and how did you celebrate?

I was proud of myself because it took a lot of hard work to do what I did. Self-publishing takes a lot of discipline and it is definitely a grind. I relaxed for a while knowing that the publishing process was complete and I celebrated for a short time with my friends before starting on other projects.

Q: What was the first thing you did as for as promotion when you were published for the first time?

The first thing I did was paid for advertisements and I learned that advertisements do not sell books. There are much better ways to promote your book rather than using an advertisement.

Q: Since you’ve been published, how have you grown as a writer and now a published author?

Yes without a doubt I’ve definitely grown as a writer. I feel like I still have the same style of writing but I see things a little better now. I understand myself better and I’m able to see what works and what doesn’t. Writing and publishing a book has turned me into a better writer and I can’t wait to finish my next couple of projects.

Q: What has surprised or amazed you about the publishing industry as a whole?

It is more difficult than I thought it would be to get a big-time publisher to sign on to your project. I came in thinking that if the great writing is there, you will be discovered. Although I still believe that, I am determined to get a big publisher attached to my next book.

Q: What is the most rewarding thing about being a published author?

Knowing that I accomplished something I did by myself is the most rewarding thing for me. On my own I wrote a book, self-published it, and I reached people with my words. When someone tells me they enjoyed my book or they can relate with something specific in my book, there’s no feeling like it. I’m happy that there are people who share the same thoughts and feelings that I have.

Q: Any final words for writers who dream of being published one day?

Don’t ever give up. No matter how many times you are rejected, you need to keep plugging away. If you are determined and you believe in yourself, you can truly do anything you want to do. You just need to stick with it and believe.

 


2 Comments

  1. Sounds like a fun book!

  2. Great interview. I can’t wait to read the book.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!