Beyond the Books

Home » Character Interviews » Character Interview: Lilly, from Rebecca Reid’s psychological thriller ‘The Coop’ { #blogtour } + WIN #KINDLEFIRE

Character Interview: Lilly, from Rebecca Reid’s psychological thriller ‘The Coop’ { #blogtour } + WIN #KINDLEFIRE

Categories

Archives



We’re thrilled to have here today Lilly from Rebecca Reid’s new psychological thriller, The Coop. Lilly is twenty-something living in an undisclosed location.

It is a pleasure to have you with us today at Beyond the Books!

Thank you so much  for this interview, Lilly. Now that the book has been written, do you feel you were fairly portrayed or would you like to set anything straight with your readers?

I think Rebecca did the best she could given my situation. It was difficult, to say the least. Her portrayal of me is nothing but fair – she gave me my own voice, what more could I ask for.

Click on banner to find out how you can win your own Kindle Fire HD!

It is shameful, some of it, and distressing for me to confront but I got to be myself. She was lucky; she got to capture me at a very vulnerable stage in my life, only few people saw. I am what I am due to circumstances I had no control over – I would really rather not dwell on how I may have been portrayed.

What do you believe is your strongest trait?

My ability to transfer my emotions. It doesn’t take a genius to distract themselves from a moment they are in, anyone can do it but some of us use it as a means of survival. I have confronted things in life no-one should have to deal with.

Worse trait?

That I am so used to protecting myself that I refuse to accept change, even if it’s for the better.

If you could choose someone in the television or movie industry to play your part if your book was made into a movie, who would that be (and you can’t say yourself!)?

Kiera Knightly

Do you have a love interest in the book?

That would very much depend.

At what point of the book did you start getting nervous about the way it was going to turn out?

From the very beginning. It’s complicated. You’ll see when you read it.

If you could trade places with one of the other characters in the book, which character would you really not want to be and why?

Mathew. He is another example of circumstance. Through exploitation he is both the victim and the villain.

How do you feel about the ending of the book without giving too much away?

I like it. It’s both closure and a whole new beginning. It provides clarity for both myself and you as the reader.

What words of wisdom would you give your author if s/he decided to write another book with you in it?

Tell my story. Let them see.

Thank you for this interview, Lilly. Will we be seeing more of you in the future?

Oh yes, in Book 2 of the Thickets Wood Trilogy, ‘Thickets Wood’.

Rebecca Reid was withdrawn from school due to illness at fourteen. Being limited in the things she was able to do, she wrote all the time − poetry, stories, feelings, thoughts. At 16 she had her own page in the local weekly newspaper, the Bangor Spectator, in which she covered anything and everything: fashion, beauty, film, teen issues etc. At 17 she became a model, doing catwalk, photographic work, and TV. In 2008 she graduated in English from Queens University, Belfast, and she was awarded an Arts Council writing grant in 2009. Married in 2007, she lives in N. Ireland with her husband and their three daughters. The Coop is her first novel, and part of the Thickets Wood Trilogy.

Visit Rebecca Reid on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/rebeccareid.thicketswood

Pick up your copy of The Coop at Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B009BBGY0E

 

A psychological thriller about the destruction of innocence.

Enter The Coop, a dark and mysteriously misleading psychological thriller.

A girl, apparently imprisoned in a room, is the thread of mystery running parallel to the tale of Thatchbury village.

Meet Howard and Lilly. They take you on a journey through Thatchbury where Mathew, the child from the coop, shoots Jodie Tiding, and so unravels the history of his loveless raising, her innocence and the dramatic events leading them to disaster.

The Coop is a darkly compelling vision of the layers of consciousness. Although conceived as the first novel in a trilogy, The Coop stands alone as a brilliant individual work of fiction.

 


Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!