Beyond the Books

Home » Uncategorized » Interview with New Adult Romance Author Karen-Anne Stewart

Interview with New Adult Romance Author Karen-Anne Stewart

Top Posts

Categories

Archives



Karen-Anne StewartKaren-Anne Stewart has always adored reading and has now fallen in love with writing. Her written works are The Rain Trilogy: Saving Rain, Healing Rain, and After the Rain, and the newly released stand alone novel, Ash to Steele. Her debut novel, Saving Rain: The First Novel in The Rain Trilogy, was a nominee for the Book Junkie’s Choice Awards, and Saving Rain and After the Rain were nominees for the 2014 RONE Awards.

When Karen-Anne isn’t writing, she enjoys spending time with her family and friends, hiking, and visiting new places. She fuels her addiction of creating new stories by her only other addiction, caffeine, and listening to a myriad of musical genres. Tucked away near the Blue Ridge Mountains, Karen-Anne lives with her husband, daughter, two dogs, and their cat. She plans on writing new adult romance as long as her fingers maintain dexterity.

For More Information

About the Book:

Ash to Steele 2Emma

Who I am and all I believe is marred with just one glance into angry, steel blue eyes. He seems to control my air, my ability to breathe. He makes me crave everything I know is a sin. Pure becomes tainted and lines are blurred. It’s my fault; I’m the one who isn’t strong enough. I’ve been damaged…broken. Breck’s words haunt me…’There’s a consequence for every choice you make.’

Breck

I’ve had so many women I can’t even remember over half of their names, but none of them are mine; I make damn sure of that. I take what I desire and never look back. I don’t need or want anyone, ever…not until I met Emma. Those eyes bore into what’s left of my soul and her touch sears me, weakens me. I want to hate her for that. She is my ruin…my sweetest hell.

For More Information

Q: Welcome to Beyond the Books, Karen-Anne. Can we start out by telling us whether you are published for the first time or are you multi-published?

Thank you so much for having me! Ash to Steele is my fourth published novel, and I’m thrilled to tell Breck and Emma’s story.

Q: When you were published for the first time, which route did you go – mainstream, small press, vanity published or self-published and why or how did you choose this route?

When I first began writing my debut novel, Saving Rain, in September 2012, I had NO IDEA what I was doing, getting into, or how to take the first step. The only thing I knew for sure was how I had fallen in love with writing as I penned the first part of Kas and Raina’s story. I ended up self-publishing The Rain Trilogy with Authorhouse. With Ash to Steele, I decided to stay an Indie self-published author but took a different route and published through Amazon on Kindle Direct Publishing and Create Space. I’m not the most patient person, and after hearing how it can take months, even years sometimes, to get traditionally published, I decided to start out as an Indie self-pub author. I would like to try to go the traditionally published route in the future so I can experience the differences between the two. I have a huge amount of respect for both paths of publishing.

Q: How long did it take you to get published once you signed the contract?

With being self-published, you can pretty much publish your novel fairly quickly once you feel it’s polished and ready to go. I do feel that it’s a bit more difficult to market being an Indie author, but maybe that’s just because I suck at self-marketing. I’m such a terrible sales person ;). I’m getting better as I go, though!

Q: How did it make you feel to become published for the first time and how did you celebrate?

Not to sound cliché, but it was unbelievably surreal. Holding Saving Rain in my hand was such an amazing feeling; I still get butterflies remembering that moment. I celebrated by jumping right back into finishing up the rest of the trilogy because I was so excited.

Q: What was the first thing you did as for as promotion when you were published for the first time?

I had no clue where to begin. Also, I was quite petrified of reading my first review. I googled reviewers, and Christine, from shebookblogs.com, gave me my first shot. I was thrilled when she agreed to read and provide an honest review of Saving Rain.

Q: Since you’ve been published, how have you grown as a writer and now a published author?

I hope I’ve grown. I do feel that I’m better with marketing and social media, although I still worry about breaking some unknown rule or embarrassing the hell out of myself, but that’s part of the whole learning experience. For me, I learn a lot from my mistakes and go from there.

Q: What has surprised or amazed you about the publishing industry as a whole?

I’ve been amazed by the astounding support authors give each other. I LOVE the writing community and am humbled and honored to be a part of it.

Q: What is the most rewarding thing about being a published author?

Connecting with authors, bloggers, and readers. I’ve made some wonderful new friends that I never would have had the opportunity to meet if I didn’t write.

Q: Any final words for writers who dream of being published one day?

Never give up. Trying to figure it all out can be overwhelming to the point of making you want to curl up in a fetal position and sob at times, so do it. Then, get off your tush and keep on going because it’s so worth it when you love what you do and you connect with readers who love what you do, too J. There will be negative reviews; use those a constructive criticism. I truly respect every reader’s opinion, after all, it’s what he or she thinks of my book, not what I want him/her to think about it. We are all different; that’s what makes the world so much fun. So, learn from the negative reviews and focus on the positive, and remember that it’s impossible to write a book that everyone will like. If what you write makes you happy, then you know you’re doing something right and it will make others happy as well!


1 Comment

  1. Thank you so much for allowing me to stop by your great site today! I hope you have a wonderful week :).

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We support Indie Authors!